Second Time Around

Writing

 

 

Writing Prompt: Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

 

tales-of-a-4th-grade-nothing_300

 

 

So a few years ago I wrote a blog post about “10 Books That Stayed With Me” And one of the books that I chose was Tales of the Fourth Grade Nothing” by  Judy Blume

 

  I was read this book in the 2nd grade, and I remember being really excited when it time for the teacher to read the class a chapter. I honestly believe this is what started my love affair of books. I made sure to read the ENTIRE series.

Not familiar with this book, that’s a same, let me give you a quick rundown courtesy of Wikipedia: :

The book chronicles 9-year-old Peter Hatcher’s infuriation with the horrendous behavior demonstrated by his annoying 2-year-old brother Fudge, which frequently goes unpunished. Peter becomes frustrated with Fudge because he often disturbs Dribble, Peter’s pet turtle which Peter won at his friend’s birthday party. Furthermore, his little brother throws nonstop temper tantrums, conducts an unexplained abstinence from eating, and emulates his brother’s behavior, throwing tantrums if it is prohibited. Nevertheless, their parents dote on Fudge, to Peter’s anger.

For months, Fudge’s antics continue; breaking his front teeth after catapulting himself from the jungle gym at the local playground when he decides to fly (Chapter 4), vandalizing Peter’s group homework assignment (Chapter 7), and taking off on his family at a movie theater (Chapter 9). However, one day, to Peter’s absolute misery, he returns home to discover Dribble’s disappearance from his bowl, Fudge claiming to have swallowed him. These proclamations prove to be correct, and Fudge is rushed to the hospital, where Dribble is safely extracted, to Mrs. Hatcher’s relief. However, Dribble has died in Fudge’s stomach, and no one, especially Fudge, seems to care. Peter is incredibly devastated over the loss of his beloved pet, however his parents sympathetically compensate by adopting a dog, which Peter appropriately names “Turtle” in memory of Dribble.

Okay so now that we have that covered why do I love this book, why do I frequently read this book although it’s clearly a children’s book….. First off, I have so many fond memories associated with this book and that time in my life. Can you image a 2nd  grad Tyra…. who’s last name was easy to spell and life was simple, and there was story time…… story time!!! I remember thinking that Fudge was great, and honestly at the time I couldn’t under stand why Peter was so uptight, he was a big brother to this super –cute (and sometimes annoying younger brother). I should also not that at the time I was still an only child, so my perspective was a lot different..

It wasn’t until I became a big sister to two younger brother that I realize Fudge; excuse me Farley Drexel Hatcher was an asshole (as are most younger brothers) and was really trying Peter’s patience (cause lord knows my brothers tried mine.) About 6 years ago I was taking a stroll into Barnes and Noble and I saw they not only had the book, but the entire series, so naturally I picked it up, and read them all in 2 days. They same feeling that I had the first time I read it came back, there were parts were I  laughed out loud, and there were times when I sympathized with Peter.

I feel like that book spoke to my 9 year old self, that book made it okay for me to be  utterly annoyed with my younger brothers and feel okay about it, Judy Blume, spoke to millions of kids and this book, along with many others sometimes felt like she was speaking directly to me,  As I write this post, there is a since of excitement that overcomes me, as I soon with become an aunt for the first time., and introducing my niece of nephew to the world of Judy Blume and in particular this book will take me back once again to that time in my life, where the biggest battles I faced was whether Peter and Fudge were gonna reign supreme…but it also gives me an excuse to read this book again, this time with an audience.


 

Until Next Time,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2016– Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved