Tyra Cooks?…..Gumbo

It has been such a long time since I had make a contribution to this section of my blog, but like I always say, a girl needs inspiration. So at the end of April my mom tells me that she will be hosting this years Mother’s Day lunch and I need to come up with a menu …. let me repeat that I had to come up with the menu  and I had to prepare it.

So the menu for the Mother’s day is as follows:

So believe me when I say that we have our hands full…I don’t have any experience making gumbo… so you all will be coming with me..

20140509_17522820140509_17541820140509_175514

Recipe type: Dinner

Cuisine: Southern

Prep time:  15 mins

Cook time:  2 hours and 25 minutes

Total time:  2 hours 40 mins

Serves:  8 to 10

Ingredients

  • 3 large boneless skinless chicken breast halves
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 pound smoked sausage, cut into 1/4-inch slices
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 5 tablespoons margarine
  • green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 8 cloves garlic minced
  • 3 stalks celery chopped
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 bunch flat leaf parsley, stems and leaves, coarsely chopped, plus chopped leaves for garnish
  • 4 cups hot water
  • 5 beef bouillon cubes
  • 1 (14-ounce can) stewed tomatoes with juice
  • 2 cups frozen sliced okra
  • 4 green onions, sliced, white and green parts
  • 1/2 pound small shrimp, peeled, deveined and cooked

Instructions

Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Heat the oil in a heavy bottomed Dutch oven over 20140510_134947medium-high heat. Cook the chicken until browned on both side20140510_140158s and remove. Add the sausage and cook until browned, then remove. Sprinkle the flour over the oil, add 2 tablespoons of margarine and cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until brown, about 10 minutes. Let the roux cool.20140510_143958

Return the Dutch oven to low heat and melt the remaining 3 tablespoons margarine. Add the onion, garlic, green pepper and celery and cook for 10 minutes. Add Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper, to taste and the 1/4 bunch parsley. Cook, while stirring frequently, for 10 minutes. Add 4 cups hot 20140510_150301water and bouillon cubes, whisking constantly. Add the chicken and sausage. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat, cover, and simmer for 45 minutes. Add tomatoes and okra. Cover and simmer for 1 hour. Just before serving add the green onions, shrimp and chopped parsley20140510_163550

Now this was prepared the day before, so I stopped after I let it simmer for an hour, the next day the shrimp and green onions an parsley are added right before serving.

I was afraid by the sheer amount of ingredients that this recipe had, especially considering I was going to be serving this to a group of women, who although are family members and love me, will be quick to tell me if they don’t like the way that something taste…. so doing this correctly was a must.  This recipe is SUPER  adaptable; not a fan of seafood? , add more chicken, don’t like the beef/pork Andouille there is a chicken version for you. And I’m sure thatgumbo the flour could be substitute for something else for those whosuffer from glutton allergies

And this a defiantly a freezer friendly meal (for you singletons out there! … this can be held in the freezer for up to 8 months!!!)

I added all the ingredients into my My Fitness Pal and out popped this information

 

 

Until Next Time… Happy Cooking!!

tyra signature

Tyra Cooks?…Strawberry Icebox Cake

20140509_174905

It has been such a long time since I had make a contribution to this section of my blog, but like I always say, a girl needs inspiration. So at the end of April my mom tells me that she will be hosting this years Mother’s Day lunch and I need to come up with a menu …. let me repeat that I had to come up with the menu  and I had to prepare it.

So the menu for the Mother’s day is as follows:

  • Salad
  • French Bread
  • Gumbo
  • Rice
  • Assorted Vegetables with Dip
  • Peach Bellini’s
  • And Strawberry Icebox Cake

Recipe type: Dessert

Cuisine: No Bake/Quick

Prep time:  15 mins

Cook time:  0 hours

Total time:  15 minutes

Serves:   around 16

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs. strawberries, washed and sliced
  • 1 box Graham Crackers
  • 2 tubs whipped topping (like Cool Whip)
  • 1 bar dark chocolate
  • ⅓ cup half and half

(I did make a double batch as shown in the photos)

Instructions

  1. In a 9×13 pan, layer the ingredients: whipped topping, graham crackers, whipped topping, 20140510_161903strawberries. Repeat until you reach the top, ending with a berry layer.

 

  1. For the ganache, break the chocolate into pieces. Heat the cream or half and half until almost boiling, then pour on 20140510_162149top of the chocolate, whisking till melted. Immediately drizzle on top and garnish with strawberries.

20140510_163901

  1. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

20140510_165352

Super easy right?!?!! This is perfect for the warmer weather, you can have a dessert without turning on the stove! If you have an other recipes for ice box cakes, let me know in the comments below.

465654I added all the ingredients into my My Fitness Pal and out popped this information

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Until next time…. happy cooking!!

tyra signature