Tyra Cooks?…Strawberry Icebox Cake

20140509_174905

It has been such a long time since I had make a contribution to this section of my blog, but like I always say, a girl needs inspiration. So at the end of April my mom tells me that she will be hosting this years Mother’s Day lunch and I need to come up with a menu …. let me repeat that I had to come up with the menu  and I had to prepare it.

So the menu for the Mother’s day is as follows:

  • Salad
  • French Bread
  • Gumbo
  • Rice
  • Assorted Vegetables with Dip
  • Peach Bellini’s
  • And Strawberry Icebox Cake

Recipe type: Dessert

Cuisine: No Bake/Quick

Prep time:  15 mins

Cook time:  0 hours

Total time:  15 minutes

Serves:   around 16

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs. strawberries, washed and sliced
  • 1 box Graham Crackers
  • 2 tubs whipped topping (like Cool Whip)
  • 1 bar dark chocolate
  • ⅓ cup half and half

(I did make a double batch as shown in the photos)

Instructions

  1. In a 9×13 pan, layer the ingredients: whipped topping, graham crackers, whipped topping, 20140510_161903strawberries. Repeat until you reach the top, ending with a berry layer.

 

  1. For the ganache, break the chocolate into pieces. Heat the cream or half and half until almost boiling, then pour on 20140510_162149top of the chocolate, whisking till melted. Immediately drizzle on top and garnish with strawberries.

20140510_163901

  1. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

20140510_165352

Super easy right?!?!! This is perfect for the warmer weather, you can have a dessert without turning on the stove! If you have an other recipes for ice box cakes, let me know in the comments below.

465654I added all the ingredients into my My Fitness Pal and out popped this information

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Until next time…. happy cooking!!

tyra signature

One thought on “Tyra Cooks?…Strawberry Icebox Cake

  1. Pingback: Tyra Cooks?…Gumbo! | Random Acts of Snark

Leave a Reply

