Bedtime

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt – Bedtime

 

Funniest_Memes_this-is-bedtime_9244

Bedtime… such a simply and foreign word. These days bedtime can happen anytime of the day, and doesn’t necessary require a bed, I have found in the past that couches and floors work just as well.

There used to be a time, (high school) when I had a very strict bedtime… that I enforced. I would be in bed by 10 up by 6am 5 days a week, and that was my schedule… and it worked well for me….until I went to grad school. Maybe it was the 2 part time jobs the internship and a full course load (not to mention my AI brewing…unbeknownst to me). But I sleep when my eyes were closed for more that 2 minutes, in my T.A office, in class, at work, everywhere. I would come home at around 9pm every night, eat, so a little work then go to bed, probably before midnight,  wake up around 3 or 4 am and wouldn’t be able to go back to sleep (I later found this time invaluable, because this is when I was able to do most of my research for my thesis) go back to bed around 6am, then wake up again around 8am and start my day.

These days are much like when I was in grad school, my sleep is very broken, except instead of research I’m wither watching YouTube videos, scrolling through Tumblr or knitting. It got so bad that I talked to my doctor about it and she  gave me a long list of ways to improve my sleep hygiene. I tried them all, I no longer turn on the computer (but I guess looking on my phone doesn’t help). I have been practicing (I’m going to use that term loosely) Qigong there is this breathing and swaying technique that I use and I swear it works I get very relaxed and am sleep in minutes.

But most days the problem isn’t going to sleep, it’s staying asleep and those 8 hours of sleep that everyone talks about seems like a mere memory, I’m doing good if I can get 4 hours of sleep.

 

Until Next Time,

tyra2_thumb2_thumb

One thought on “Bedtime

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 12 – “Hate, A List Of Things I Really” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

