Thanks, Hindsight

Writing

 

 

Writing Prompt:How is the year shaping up for you so far? Have your predictions come true, or did you have to face a curve ball or two?

 

Captain_Hindsight_766605

 

 

 

This time last year I was thrown a major curve ball. After what was supposed to be a minor (seriously it was a day surgery…. and it took 20 minutes, the prep took longer than the actual procedure) to remove a suture granuloma on the line of my transplant site, actually now that I mention it this was the second one that I had…. the first one went well, except for about a month later my stomach started to swell in one spot and it popped open and goicuoey puss came out….. which was what prompted me to have the damn surgery the first time. The doctor went it a second time, but got some of the lower sutures that were closer to the muscle…. and removed those hoping that the inflammation response would calm down.All went well as far as I could tell… I was in a little pain… nothing major, then a few days later I was in a lot of pain…. it hurt to stretch, my stomach was swollen, but I figured I wasn’t really taking the pain medication and it was part of the healing process….

Well you know what’s not part of the healing process… waking up in a pool of blood., there was a hole in my stomach small than the size of a pencil eraser….that was literally gushing blood…. I’ll spear you the nasty details… but I will say that I was rushed to the closest hospital via ambulance.. bleed the 6 or so hours I was there; the doctors couldn’t stop the bleeding, then transferred my back to the hospital that I had the surgery (thank goodness that hospital was crappy and the monitor staff…. well not that discreet (seriously click on the link ) Spent time in ICU, Lost half of my blood volume, and spent a month or so on a heat monitor.

So I can safely say that the beginning of 2015 was beyond shitty…. and the rest of the year was pretty much the same. So (Iike I do every year) I told my self that the next year I would have no major health crises… SO FAR SO GOOD!

So when 2015 ended I took stock of my life and realized there are things that I can’t control, Having an autoimmune illness and all the stuff that comes with it is out of my control, at this point I can only control my response. It’s hard when things happen to your body and you can’t control it, so it’s sort of made me a control freak…. but in the end the added stress was not helping me, so I adopted a simple (yet tough matra) “Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff” I can’t stress about things I can’t do anything about.. .. and I’m happy to say (even though it’s an on-going process) I’ve been successful.

It occurred to me the other day that I’m happy. Now to many of you, that might seem weird that I would say that, but I’m was always content…. so being happy about my life as it is at this moment is strange for me, and that’s a major change from last year…

So far my prediction has been correct, but we are so early in the year, who knows what challenges I may face in the coming months, but I’m prepared and I’ll handle it like I always do…..

So now I will make a prediction for 2017. Not only will I be happier than I am this year, but I’m also gonna be a kick-ass aunt….. I’ll let you know this time next year if I’m successful

 

Until Next Time,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2016– Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

