Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Ugh, What The Heck?

Fitness

 

So last week I finally made Lifetime status, which was expected…. I also gain weight, and that was expected as well.. but what I didn’t expect was the nearly 5 pound weight gain…. ugh, what the heck? In all fairness sugar was my best friend that week and I didn’t work out… but 5 pounds!!! I was on my period and I’m pretty sure I didn’t take a water pill that day…. but I guess this is where I should say I really see the how the physical aspect of weight loss works….the week after I made lifetime I didn’t weigh in.. they say once a month is the least you can do and frankly I think that’s better for my psyche.

Last week I decided that I was going to do some meal planning, what started out as making salads for lunch turned into an entire week of lunches and dinners, breakfast I had to make the day of…. S20160116_171728o last20160116_175239 week I had salad with shrimp, salad with chicken and salad with tuna, chili and turkey sausage with collard greens from lunch (the last two were left overs) For dinner I had shrimp, quinoa and mixed veggies for dinner (for 3 days), oxtail soup (leftovers) and Friday I had dinner with my parents which was awesome Jamaican food (I had Jerk catfish, cabbage and peas and rice…yum!!).

So I made quinoa for the first time last week. I always wanted to try it…. but was a little freaked about cooking it… thank goodness you can make it in the rice cooker. I used a little chicken broth and it was REALLY good, and cooked to perfection. and it was really good with the shrimp and veggies, and it was pretty low in Points .

This week the meal planning is gonna have to be put on whole, I’m dealing with some major GERD issues, and at this point drinking water gives me serious heartburn. So I’m trying to avoid the foods that trigger reflux… and I’m pretty much gonna be eating bland, so that’s gonna take a little bit more time for me to plan out…. so it’s better that I simply cook day to day this week depending on how bad my GERD is….. also I’m gonna try a different medicine and hopefully that will work….. cause this sucks….

It’s even gotten to the point where I can hardly taste my food salty, sweet, sour….. it all taste the same to me…. and you would think that would make me not want to eat…. nope I tried to eat everything that I could because I wanted to taste something…. anything…

Although  I didn’t go to the gym I am happy to say that I am keeping up with my FitBit Challenges, both the Weekend Warrior and the Workweek Hustle…. some of these people are no joke, and for the first time (well the second time in a row I’m in the top 10!! And I even got out and walked in the cold and the snow a few times…I still find walking outside…even when its freezing cold more enjoyable then going to the gym.

2016-01-24 19.56.30

 

Then this happened…. Guess I got what I wanted I wanted the accountability and Weight Watchers noticed

And as I said that in my head I devised a plan that I would weigh myself at home (wait what?) and monitor my weight on my non weigh-in weeks…  and last week was a gain, this week was a loss! I know that there is a maybe 2-3 pound difference between my scale and the Weight Watchers scale, and I played with my head if I should weigh in this week., I knew I had loss some weight, but by the time I got to my meeting this morning I had talked myself out of it.. because I weighted myself this morning in only my underwear, so I was unsure how much weight my clothes would add on, and if my clothes were too heavy I didn’t want to pay the 15 buck penalty….. so in the end I just sat down and simply went to a meeting…..

It occurred to me that although my new Weight Watchers status is really nothing but a new title, everything is still the same, EVERYTHING. I wake up with the same challenges, and sometimes I de really awesome, and other times I fail miserably, there is some comfort in knowing that every day is a new day and a new opportunity to make better choices

 

This week Facebook reminded me that it’s been a whole year since I’ve been on Prednisone so to “celebrate” the occasion of one year on the Devils Tic Tacs. I present my fat, prednisone face.

20160124_144824-1

 

 

If you want to check out my journey so far: Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, Week 5, Week 6, Week 7,Week 8, Week 9, Week 10, Week 11, Week 12, Week 13, Week 14, Week 15, Week 16, Week 17-20,Week 21, Week 22-23, Week 24, 25, 26, Week 27, Week 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 331 Year and a Restart Later, Prednisone Sucks, Oprah, Getting Talked Off the Ledge, Smart Points and Surviving It All

 

Until Next Time ,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2016 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

