I’ve Become My Parents

Writing

 

 

 

Writing Prompt: Do you ever find yourself doing something your parents used to do when you were a kid, despite the fact you hated it back then?

 

becoming-a-mother-means-300x210

 

 

There comes a time in everyone’s life when you have this soul crushing epiphany and realize you have become your parents, and in that moment the Earth slightly turns on it’s axis and you ask yourself, “When The Hell Did This Happen?!”

There was once a time when I did everything in my power NOT to become like my mother, not because she was a bad person, she was more of a fun sucker.. I swear it was her job to see my have fun/enjoying myself then ruin it. There were also times when she would say or do stuff and I would think, “She made that up, no one but her feels that way”

Almost everyday I do something, or I say something that literally could have come out of my moms mouth, I’m sure there is a child out there in the world who thinks that I’m a fun sucker,  I even make a certain non- verbal noise that my mom makes (I wouldn’t even know how to spell it) that loosely translates to , “that’s nice dear, but I truly give zero fucks right now”

But maturity certainly had something to do with, as an adult, I understand her fear when raising her children, I get why she said no, I get why she became a fun sucker, and I frequently had to apologize to her (especially after I babysit my five cousins) because I GET it.  In the end I think one of the joys of being a parent (part satisfaction and part revenge) is knowing that your children will resist and without them knowing they will become you and they cycle will continue with them and there children.

Until Next Time ,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2015 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
2 thoughts on “I’ve Become My Parents

  1. Hi! This was nearly exactly what was going through my mind when I wrote the prompt months ago! I could relate to your post deeply. Thank you for sharing.

    My parents tell me that there are things we understand only after we’ve been to a certain place, and gain certain experiences. So true.

    Best,
    YY

    Like

Leave a Reply

