Music Monday:

Music MondayThe-Weeknd

For the past two weeks when I’m driving I’m tuned in to my  local radio station; it’s really the only time that I get a chance to listen to the radio, and at first my relationship with this song started from, “ooh,  that’s a catchy song” to “ooh; they are playing that catchy song again, then it progressed to, “seriously how many time are they gonna play this song in an hour, to “Is this the only song that they play, to where we are now; “If I hear this song one more time I’m going postal” Touted as the “feel good song of the summer” is really becoming the earworm that wont go away”

And what I thought was a catchy love song turned out to be a catchy song about drug abuse, yet this song still remains in my head, I guess it has a lot  to do with the super easy lyrics

So according to How Stuff Works, this is simply an issue with my auditory cortex

the participants’ auditory cortex automatically filled in the rest — in other words, their brains kept “singing” long after the song had ended . The only way to “scratch” brain itch is to repeat the song over and over in your mind. Unfortunately, like with mosquito bites, the more you scratch the more you itch, and so on until you’re stuck in an unending song cycle.

There are many other theories about why songs get stuck in our heads. Some researchers say stuck songs are like thoughts we’re trying to suppress. The harder we try not to think about them, the more we can’t help it. Other experts claim that earworms are simply a way to keep the brain busy when it’s idling . Just as there are many theories, there are many names for the phenomenon. It’s been called everything from “repetunitis” to “melodymania.”

So pretty much they’re saying that I screwed and there is nothing that can help me get this darn song out of my head. And I guess the only way I can get this one out of my head is to find a better one….. at the moment  Luhan’sThat Good Good” seems to be a really good contender; hopefully my next Music Monday I’ll write about a song I really like instead of one that has taken me hostage and won’t let me go.

“And I know she’ll be the death of me, at least we’ll both be numb And she’ll always get the best of me, the worst is yet to come But at least we’ll both be beautiful and stay forever young”

“Can’t Feel My Face” can be found on The Weekend’s latest album  Beauty Behind The Madness  on iTunes and Spotify

Until Next Time….

 

tyra signature

Copyright © 2015 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

