These Horns Were Made for Tooting

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: Today, share something you love about yourself  — don’t be shy, be confident! — but that few other people know about you or get to see very often.

 

download

 

 

One of the weird bi-products of losing weight is gaining confidence; which I have gained in abundance, and an off shoot of that is the notion that you are “better than that” you are better version of yourself so you  require more of yourself and of others. Last year before the new year came in I decided that I was no longer going to do anything that I didn’t want to. I know it sounds a bit idealistic, but in the past I fond myself doing things out of obligation or because it was expected of me, and I did it because I didn’t want to cause friction of rock the boat.

In the beginning; honestly, I did it as an act of rebellion, but I noticed that I was happier not feeling the pressure of expectation, and so one event led to another and led to another. Now I can confidently say, “I don’t do anything that I do want to do” and I’m okay with that. I’m proud that I can not only stand up for myself, and not allow myself to be put in situations that will make me uncomfortable, but also implementing a bit of self- care in the process. Not to say that there haven’t been bumps in the road, I’ve had people call me selfish because I simply said , “No, I don’t want to do it” and didn’t get into a long explanation as to why, simply because My reasons are my reasons and honestly it’s non of your business.

So I guess in the end if people think I’m selfish for executing a little self-care every know and then, I’m okay with that; and I will gladly toot my horn for that.

 

Until Next Time ,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2015 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

