Daily Ritual

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: Think about your day. Select one of your daily rituals and explain it to us: why do you do what you do? How did you come to adopt this ritual? What happens on days when you can’t perform it?

 

h_iStock_000019374131Small

 

I noticed a few weeks ago I was getting comfortable in my weight loss, and I was starting to slack off, and nothing is more humbling that thinking,”You’ve Got This” and getting on the scale at Weight Watchers and realize you don’t in fact have it at all. I knew that it was time to recommit and get back the game. I’ve always from the very beginning said that I don’t like to exercise, even 3 years of active weight loss and working out I still feel that way, I know they say that it improves your endorphins and makes you feel better…blah, blah, blah, I don’t care, I don’t enjoy sweating,  And because I don’t enjoy doing it (several weeks ago) I decided that should be the very first thing I do in the mornings.

So my new ritual is get up, and get dressed, I lay my workout clothes out the night before, and getting ready takes 10 minutes (the sooner I’m dressed the less likely I’ll want to change my mind) and I’m out the door. It used to be that going to my Weight Watchers meetings where enough motivation, but something happened and I needed more, I noticed that my Weight Watchers group had an offshoot Weight Watchers Facebook page, and that Page had a challenge page called Last Women Stepping Challenge , where the goal is to get 10,000 steps a day and the last women standing, these women are competitive and I don’t like to lose, so that has really helped keep me motivated and on track with my ritual;  Also around the same time I decided to join Girl Trek just to have that group interaction, it’s nice to walk with other women who are like  minded and have the same goals in mind.

And now I’m two weeks into this new ritual, and I will admit, it’s getting a bit easier, I don’t know how I’m going to feel once winter descends on us, but for now it’s serving it’s purpose, and the results have been showing, since I started this I’ve shown consistent loss on the scales. It really is a chain reaction, I do some sort of physical activity and it really does effect how I eat (I tend to eat when I’m bored, but I’m so busy moving that don’t get bored) and sleep.

 

Until Next Time ,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2015 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

