Smell You Later

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: Humans have very strong scent memory. Tell us about a smell that transports you.

 

 

images

 

 

Last Friday I was picking my mother up from work, and by the time she had buckled herself into the car, her entire smell filled the car. It’s not a good smell, and it’s not a bad smell, it’s just her smell, totally unique to her, it’s her “mom scent”. I thought to myself, “she has always smelled like this” My theory is that I still have that strong bond with her that I developed in infancy since it’s been said that babies learn their mother’s smell early in life, wiring the scent into their brains. I wonder if my mother smells the same to my younger brothers, or if they share that same emotional connection to her based on her scent.

Her scent makes me feel safe and secure and if I was asked to name it…I would call it love. Simply put if I was blind-folded and asked to find my mother through scent only I would be able to do it in a heart beat.

 

 

Until Next Time

tyra signature

Copyright © 2015 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

