Flip Flop

 

 

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: Think of a topic or issue about which you’ve switched your opinion. Why the change?

 

pink_flip_flop

 

This one is really difficult for me because I’m one of those people who has an opinion and sticks to it… I’m rarely swayed about something, but one thing I have swayed on is the idea of plastic surgery. I was always felt like it was a cop out, people who can’t love and accept themselves get plastic surgery. I’ve gotten older (and hopefully a little wiser) and as a person who feels like you “it’s your body, do what you want”, that should apply to plastic surgery as well. People do it for all reasons, and if you want to give yourself a little tweek or a nip and tuck TREAT YO SELF….

And I guess depending on who you ask ?I would be considered a hypocrite if I was totally against plastic surgery….. especially considering I’ve had a breast reduction when I was 18 years old, because I was sick and tired of carry around two gallon boobs around, and yes eventually I was told that it was causing my back pain, and I had these horrible bruises on my shoulder because my boobs were so heavy, but honestly I had a breast reduction because wearing two or three bras just to feel secure was a pain, hating my body because my boobs were so big was even worst.

I wanted to look better and I knew that getting the surgery was the answer, I had been thinking about it since I was 15, and when I graduated high school and went off to college, I made an appointment with a plastic surgeon and went to the consultation alone without my mother’s consent (hell I was 18 technically I was an adult), my doctor refused to do the surgery unless I told my parent and they came in for a second consultation….. needless to say I told her my plans (at the time , she wasn’t really happy about it, I think that she was more worried than anything else, but she knew my desire to have the surgery so she went along with it)..needless to say I had the surgery, and I have never regretted my decision, and yes there was a change in the way I dressed and saw my body.

Long story short…. my high school logic  was it’s okay for me and not for anyone else because I was in a “dire situation”…. 30 year old Tyra thinks as long as you’re not hurting yourself… go ahead….

So yes I guess technically that would make me a flip-flopper

 

Until Next Time

tyra signature

Copyright © 2015 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

