Disability Won’t Take my Passions Away

aBodyofHope

"Lost Between the Sounds"  by Fensterer. Chronic Illness will not Take my Passions Away. #Spoonie #Migraine #Music #ChronicIllness #ChronicPain abodyofhope.wordpress.comLost Between the Sounds | by Fensterer

If you have a passion for something that you can no longer do because of physical impairment, do you truly stop loving it? Then why do we say: “I used to love to…”?

This is one of the most heart-wrenching parts in coming to terms with disability. When you go to say or write the thing you’ve always loved to do, and you realize it is suddenly in past tense. It doesn’t stop twinging your heart each and every time you have to say that you USED to love hiking or taking long road trips. But you come to terms with saying it in past tense. I did. Reluctantly, my old life of passions and dreams was exchanged for my new life of “used to love” and “always enjoyed”. One by one, I locked away those pieces of myself I no longer had…

View original post 559 more words

3 thoughts on “Disability Won’t Take my Passions Away

  1. Thank you for sharing this Tyra. I’m glad it touched you. It’s the first thing I’ve been able to write in a while and I really appreciate that you shared it ❤
    I'm very sorry you have been struggling. You impress me with how you keep writing through everything.
    Thank you again. You've made my day ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

