All Grown Up

Writing

 

Writing Prompt:  When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

I think the first time that I ever felt like a real adult was when I turned 30 years old, I think it was a culmination of a lot of things coming together, finally leaving my 20’s which wasn’t as great as people make it out to be, I was in a good place health wise and I was living on my own, in a place far from the rest of my family… more than anything else I think it was the very first time when the only person I had to rely on was myself.

Taking an honest look back at my life I think one of the reasons why 30 was the “it moment: was because at 19 I was diagnosed with my autoimmune liver disease, so a lot of those “adult rites of passage” I was never able to do. Because either I was to sick or it was strictly forbidden (21st birthday I didn’t have my first legal taste of alcohol…hell I had just had a transplant…huge no! no!), so in a lot of way my adulthood was stunted by things I really had not control over. The thing is it took a long time to feel like an adult, and even know 9 years later I can say that I’m not sure if I feel like that same adult I did when I turned 30, lots of things have changed, I’ve moved closer to my family, my health is a lot worst than it used to be, and I rely more on my family, and I can’t say at this point I fell less of an adult than I did at 30… just a little bit more stunted.

Until Next Time

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
2 thoughts on “All Grown Up

  1. I feel you. I think I also felt more like an adult at 21 than I do at 31 for similar reasons. Sucks. Illness infantalises us. It’s very frustrating and discouraging. At least I can say I did a lot of good stuff when I was younger. I hope you can say the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

