Celestial Seasonings Taste Test

unnamed_Kr7iVfj.png.342x341_q85_crop[2]

I received the Celestial Seasonings’ Candy Cane Lane Tea  complimentary in my Frosty VoxBox for testing purposes from Influenster . This websites disclosure policy is here:

 

20141228_113900

Here is a bit of a disclaimer before we begin. I generally don’t drink green tea since large amounts will interact with medication that I’m taking, and I’m not a fan of peppermints or candy canes, so this should be a really interesting taste test, but I’m going to be as honest as possible. The sample had two bags in there, but for this test I only used one. I decided to put the tea in a holiday themed mug to heighten the experience.

SMELL

When I opened the package I was instantly  “assaulted” with a strong peppermint scent; but after the tea is steeped the scent becomes a lot more mellow and as time went by I began to smell more vanilla than anything else.

LOOK

Not sure if it was me, but this green tea is a little bit darker than what I’m used to seeing, but I’m sure it has to do with the other flavorings that are added in the tea, more specifically  the roasted carob and chicory, cinnamon and black berry leaves.

20141228_115648

TASTE : (Tried it  with and without sweetener )

I took a gulp and swirled it in my mouth  letting in a tiny bit of air like you see those professional wine tasters do… not sure if it worked or not, but the tea didn’t taste too bad actually it didn’t really have a very distinct flavor, but give it a few seconds and that peppermint mint hits you with it’s minty after thought

Adding sweetener to the tea didn’t really affect the flavor of it at all… (I used a packet of Splenda)

OVERALL THOUGHTS

Overall, considering everything that I said at the beginning of this review I think that I would actually purchase this tea. This would be a nice addition to my collection; I think I would pull it out when I have colds or have an upset stomach (apparently peppermint/candy cane is good when your tummy is upset). I actually think that I might get a box of this along with the Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride on my next shopping trip.

20141228_120016

Other holiday teas include: Caramel Apple Dream, Cranberry Vanilla Wonderland, Gingerbread Spice, Nutcracker SweetSugar Plum Spice, Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride and Sweet Pumpkin Harvest. These teas retail for about $3.39 .

Leave a Reply

