Cliché

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: .Clichés become clichés for a reason. Tell us about the last time a bird in the hand was worth two in the bush for you

“The reason that clichés become cliché is that they are the hammers and screwdrivers in the toolbox of communication” – Jerry Pratchett

Okay this is gonna make me sound like the biggest asshole EVER, especially considering that I don’t have children of my own; but I feel like this is a classic example of people saying things so often  that it sort of becomes cliché.  You know when people say, “My child is the greatest gift I ever received.” Oh my goodness I hate it, I hate when people say that. Ok,  I get it I really do get it… I get that you love your children; as you should. I get that having and raising a child is a life changing experience.  But when someone says it I can’t help but roll my eyes and cringe a little bit. Maybe because it’s usually said in a way that so condescending like I lacking because I don’t have children…. or it’s followed by, you should try it. I’m always one of those people who is willing to try anything one, but having children is not like try tuna tar-tar… you can’t just set it to the side if you don’t like it.  And maybe it’s because the instant bitch switch is turned on whenever I feel like someone is judging me based off of the choices that I’ve made particularly to be single and childless (does it make me less of a woman?) but I swear the next time a person says, that their  child is the greatest gift they ever received, I’m gonna simply asked, then  why did you have another one? You already had the best thing ever, or did you need a  sort of okay gift? Okay this is about the time I realize when  that this post is going downhill fast I’m going to stop here and start over tomorrow…does that sound too cliché?

“It is cliché that most clichés are true, but then like most clichés that cliché is untrue.” – Stephen Fry

 

 

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserve
Leave a Reply

