My Hero

Writing

Writing Prompt: Who’s your hero? Tell us a story about why that person plays such an important role in your life.

There have been a lot of people in my life who I would consider heroes, there are people who without me knowing have quietly made a difference in my life, and there are obvious people like my mom who has guided me from the start… and I can’t go without say the many, many doctors and medical staff who have saved me life on more than one occasion. But when I read this prompt I thought of one person, not that I guess in the realm of things he probably didn’t see it as a big deal, but he made a small difference on how I looked at my education. So for this prompt my hero is Todd Fendos.

Todd Fendos was my 6th grade math teacher at Frtische Middle School (Who strangely enough looked a lot like George Michael). That year was a lot of firsts for me, the first time in a new school where I didn’t know anyone, a new city, the first time ever riding in a school bus (my schools were always walking distance) and the first time I failed miserably at one of my subjects…I have always been good student, but this was the beginning of what I like to call my irritation with mathematical sciences. The first half of the year I got 3 D’s so he pulled me to the side and told me that he didn’t want me to fail and he was gonna tutor me after school to help me under stand the topics and hopefully my grades would improve, well the next marking period I got a B… and I continued to get a B until I left his class. It wasn’t until year later that I realized that he went above and beyond his duty to help me and made sure I succeeded in his class.

I often thought of him and his help, especially when I was in math classes in high school and college struggling to understand a concept, and wondered if he was still teaching. And it wasn’t until today, until I got this prompt that I Goggled him, apparently he’s still and education and an artist and is still living in Wisconsin.

So Mr. Fendos, where ever you are, I just want to thank you and to tell you in the 6th grade you were my hero!

And since this is my Christmas post, to those of you who celebrate it Merry Christmas!

tree_thumb[2]

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserve
Leave a Reply

