Tyra Takes on Weight Watchers–Week 14

Fitness

There is something that I’ve noticed during the meetings during the Marathon of Food; you know that time between Thanksgiving and Christmas (and this is no judgment at all but as we creep towards Christmas the number of people coming to meetings gets smaller and smaller, and I get it. Lots of things tend to happen this time of the year and priorities shift, and let’s be honest there have been a few weeks when I DID NOT want to go to a meetings, (and I think this shows a lot of growth on my part) but I go anyway, I go because those might be the times when I’m getting discouraged and need to attend a meeting, just to reaffirm that I am doing exactly what I’m doing.

Last week I didn’t make any goals, but I did say that I wanted to show a loss after the Christmas holiday’s and honestly this week I didn’t think that I was gonna lose anything considering I haven’t been active at all and doing nothing much else but sleeping, but the scale showed a loss of 2.4 pounds. I’m thankful… and with that loss came the added bonus of hitting my 5% goal!!! YIPEE!!! And naturally I got swag… this sticker was a lot bigger than the regular Bravo! stickers we get in the meetings, but I love it!!

weight5

Also finally we got the charms in from the “Share Your Success” promotion. (Apparently my WW store’s was sent late). If you’re not familiar with the promotion  you had to attend six or more meetings between Nov 2 and Dec 27 (The Marathon of Food!!) and you get a cute little snow flake charm! It’s cute a lot smaller than they showed on the picture… but cute.

charm

So this weeks Topic was another timely one,  we talked about the link between sleep and weight loss. Let’s be clear, when you get more sleep you’re better at everything, and I think it has to do with the fact that you are more rational and able to make clearer decisions, this includes what you put in your month. My sleep has always been weird, there are times when I have suffered from severe insomnia, there are times when all I do is sleep, and like now there are times when I sleep for 6-7 hours and it’s not restful, and I wake up tired and groggy or my sleep is broken, (I sleep for 3 hours, wake up for an hour then go back to sleep for another 4 hours). So how well I sleep at any given moment is never a given.

One of my goals on terms of weight loss for the upcoming year is to improve my sleep hygiene, on the days when I don’t sleep well (which I’m currently going on a two month streak) I don’t go to the gym, because seriously I think getting on a treadmill might be dangerous… did I ever share the story how (I think it was 2 years ago) was suffering from insomnia and was desperate for some sleep, so around 5 in the morning I went to the gym, I figured working out would tire me out, got on the treadmill and ran for about 30 seconds and the next thing I knew I was looking at the ceiling…. not an experience I want to do again, so I stay home)

I guess when you think about it there are a lot of reasons why we aren’t getting the sleep that we need, we’re busy raising families, working and basically surviving… and if you’re anything like me, sometimes your brain is too busy to simply fall asleep, and the longer I’m awake the it’s more likely that I’m gonna reach for snacks and eat until my heart is content.

So this week I’m gonna work on giving myself on bed time of 10:30… everything is turned off, and I’ll see if that works any with my sleep situation. This week I would like to continue on the trend and see a post Christmas weight loss.

What’s your advice of getting restful sleep??

progress

If you want to check out my journey so far: Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, Week 5, Week 6, Week 7, Week 8, Week 9, Week 10, Week 11, Week 12, Week 13

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
9 thoughts on “Tyra Takes on Weight Watchers–Week 14

  1. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers–Week 15 | Random Acts of Snark

  2. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers – Week 16 | Random Acts of Snark

  3. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Week 27 | Random Acts of Snark

  4. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Weeks 28–33 (But seriously who’s counting?) | Random Acts of Snark

  5. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: 1 Year and a Restart Later | Random Acts of Snark

  6. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Prednisone Sucks | Random Acts of Snark

  7. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Oprah, Getting Talked Off the Ledge, Smart Points and Surviving It All | Random Acts of Snark

  8. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Ugh, What The Heck? | Random Acts of Snark

  9. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers – Oprah Can Eat Bread….. | Random Acts of Snark

Leave a Reply

