All or Nothing?

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: “Perhaps when we find ourselves wanting everything, it is because we are dangerously close to wanting nothing.” — Sylvia Plath. Which do you find more dangerous: wanting nothing, or wanting everything?

I would say that a happy medium is normal, but honestly who’s normal? Had a been another person living a totally different life I would say that wanting nothing is bad, but I’ve had so many things taken from me, things that most people take for granted, and as any chronically ill person will tell you, when that’s take from the the other materialistic things really don’t mean much at all. After my second transplant I made a conscious effort to stay as humble as I could. “Things” are nice and most of the time they are pretty, but they don’t make me feel better and they won’t be there when my body goes to shit ..

There are things that I wish I could have, of course everyone feels that way, but if I can’t have them now, I’m willing to wait until I can. Personally I feel like a person who wants nothing will be grateful for everything that they are given no matter how bog or small, a person who wants everything is a person who may never be grateful or never find joy in the little things, and at the end of the day they will never be satisfied.  So by far wanting everything is far more dangerous….

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserve
Leave a Reply

