By Hand

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: What’s the best present you’ve ever received that was handmade by the giver, not store-bought? Tell us what made it so special

I love this time of the year, the holiday season is coming soon, it’s the time of the year that I do my most baking. Baking has always been a non-spoken tradition in my family around the holidays, and 90% of what we bake is given to others as gifts. And I think that they appreciate it. It’s been a long time since I’ve been given a handmade gift. But as a small child we spend 85% of our time making in art class making really ugly things for my parents like hand turkeys and things with yarn and pasta…. and every single time my mom always had a look like it was the most beautiful thing in the world.

About 5 years ago a friend’s mother was knitting, I mean she was knitting scarves and blankets and all sorts of neat things, and since I am a beginner crochet-er I asked her about what she was making and we talked about different techniques, and she presented my with the softest multi-colors scarf. I was shocked and surprised that she had given it to me; that she took time out of he schedule to think of me and make me something…. and I guess in a small way it made me feel special.

Now back to the hideous gifts that I used to make when I was younger. When I was in the second grade I made a green construction paper bell and I decorated it with glitter and placed a string on it… it became an ornament, for years my grand father placed it on his Christmas tree front and center, every Christmas it was there, when my grandmother died the Christmas tree didn’t come out, he was living in an smaller apartment then and there really was no room, and I never thought about that bell again, it wasn’t until he passed away when we were going through his things, I found that bell again… it’ was faded, pretty much all the glitter was gone, but it was still in tact. I thought that he threw it away years ago… and even though he stopped putting up his tree, he still kept it; like it was something special and priceless..

I always think about that bell during the holidays and something that seemed so small possibly meant so much to him, in the end it’s not about the money that you spend on the person, it’s the thought, care and time that you put into giving someone something that may make their day just a little bit brighter.

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

