NaNoWriMo 2014–Why The Hell Am I Doing This?

Writing

So for years I’ve been thinking about doing this and after several people telling me  to just bite the  bullet, So I have signed up and starting November first I will be participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). So yesterday I signed up and all last night while I was sleeping I pretty much came up with a synopsis and a tiny outline all while I was sleep (I guess we can thank the pain medication for that) So this is what I came up with so far:

My book cover (which is not all that creative but it’ll do for now, plus I wasn’t sure if I should use my pseudonym or not)

The Pact Book Cover

Then I had to come up with a tiny synopsis:

“How many times have friends said, “If we are both still single by the time we turn 33 then we should make a pact to marry each other.” Even at a young age Roxanne never wanted to marry, as a joke Roxanne and her friend Caleb decided if either weren’t married or in serious relationship by the time they were 30 they have a baby together” Being the practical one Roxanne insisted that insemination was the only option, while Caleb wanted it to happen the “natural way”.

14 years have passed since the pact was made Roxanne is a successful lifestyle blogger while Caleb is a pediatrician in the small town they grew up in. What happens when they meet up again at the wedding of a mutual friend and Caleb reminds her of the pact? At 35 Roxanne feels like time if running out for her to have a baby.Is Roxanne brave enough to go through with it? Is it possible for her to have a baby with Caleb without falling in love with him?”

So in a few days I’ll start writing “The Pact” this can either be the biggest shit-fest to ever happen or it might be the most creative freeing thing /I have ever done. No make this work, I have to write at least 1,700 words per day. Can I do it,… yes, Will it be easy, Probably not… but I’m doing it any way.

Have any of you ever participated in NaNoWriMo? What where your experiences? If you are participating this year feel free to add me as a writing buddy…. Wish me luck

Until Next Time,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward – All Rights Reserved
One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2014–Why The Hell Am I Doing This?

  1. I have never participated in NaNoWriMo either, but I am doing it this year. I will be getting off to a bad start since my daughter has a softball tournament on the 1st which normally lasts 10-12 hours & is located 2 hours away. So it looks like Sunday I’ll be playing catchup. I’m really nervous about it, wondering, ‘What was I thinking?!?!’ But here we go!! Good luck to you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

