Doppelgänger Alert

Writing

Writing Prompt: You step into an acquaintance’s house for the first time, and discover that everything — from the furniture, to the books, to the art on the wall — is identical to your home. What happens next?

Seriously this totally was an episode of Rosanne, when she goes next door to visit her snooty new neighbor and realizes that the houses are exactly the same except for a few upgrades that Roseanna asked Dan for,. but he said it wasn’t possible.

If this happened to me I would instantly get flashes of Single, Black Female and I would remove myself so quickly you would literally see dust trailing behind me. In the past I’ve had friends okay one person in particular, who always changes around who she thinks is her friend and the moment, and when I say change I mean, the music she listened to, her speech pattern changed..everything. Lot of people mentioned what she was doing, and it wasn’t until I stood back and saw it for myself, and in that case I wasn’t so much creeped out but more sad and annoyed, even then I couldn’t understand why someone would want to mimic, or be like me; because I’ve always felt like my shoes are not the ones you want to walk a mile in…

It wasn’t until I was older and had a but more life experience that I realized my “friend” lacked self confidence and looked to other to give it to her, later on she mellowed…. we not really as she got older she became more clingy then she ALWAYS had issues with my other friends, she always said they excluded her…blah, blah, blah. In the end the friendship didn’t last… her clinginess was more than I wanted to deal with… the final break down of our relationship was because I was dealing with some issues and I simply needed to time to just be left alone and figure things out, she felt like this was a personal attack against her…needless to say it didn’t end pretty.

So I have a different perspective on this topic, maybe a somewhat hesitant and slightly bitter one due to the fact that I’ve experiences something bitter… but for the time being the only doppelganger I want to see is the one in the mirror.

Until Next Time,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward – All Rights Reserved
One thought on “Doppelgänger Alert

  1. Pingback: Provands Lordship | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

