Unequal Terms

 

bad

Writing Prompt: Did you know today is Blog Action Day? Join bloggers from around the world and write a post about what inequality means to you. Have you ever encountered it in your daily life?

(Don’t forget to tag your post with “Inequality” — or #inequality on Twitter — so that other participants might find it.)

 

“Can you name one of the most destructive attitudes that is pervasive throughout our culture? It works to unravel the very fabric that unites each and every one of us.  How much of an ego must you have to believe that the rights of one person outweigh those of another?  Inequality is a cancer that our country and the world has fought against from the beginning of time.  Yet to this day, we still see people being treated as second class citizens.” (source)

It wasn’t very long that someone like me, (a black woman) would have not been seen as an equal to my white male counterparts, I always grew up to believe that no matter what our differences are we are all equal. I believe 100% that men and women are and should be equal. I deliberately use the word ‘should’ as I also recognize that even in today’s day and age this is not the case, especially in developing countries.

Yet, despite many successes in empowering women, numerous issues still exist in all areas of life, ranging from the cultural, political to the economic. For example, women often work more than men, yet are paid less; gender discrimination affects girls and women throughout their lifetime; and women and girls are often are the ones that suffer the most poverty, and we are still considered the inferior sex.

  • Discrimination against women and girls often begins at conception, especially in parts of India and South Asia.
  • The rate of femicide (murder of women and girls) has significantly escalated over the last few years.
  • “Dowry deaths” are responsible for the murders of thousands of women every year, especially in South Asia
  • “Honor killings” continue to take place in Pakistan, Turkey, Jordan, Syria, Egypt, Lebanon, Iran, Yemen, Morocco and other Mediterranean and Gulf Countries
  • Physical and sexual abuse of girls is a serious concern across all regions.
  • Female genital cutting/mutilation (FGC/M) causes serious injury to millions of young women every year
  • Child marriage continues to put young girls at great risk for too-early pregnancy and other sexual and reproductive health issues

This is only a small portion of the inequalities and abuses forced upon women.

In the end, inequality is a complicated term. It can be applied to so many factors, I ‘m not sure, even at my age that I’m able to put into words what equality is. but I see it every single day. I see it when I talking to an over worked and under-paid single mom who is struggling to make ends meet even though she working a full time job, it’s glaringly obvious when I’m driving my car and a homeless man is on the street begging for money. This is an issue that we have a part in, yet we continue to ignore… until it’s in our face, I think I may actually be an opposite of most people where I can recognize it every single time I walk out my door.

This topic is way to heavy for one blog post…but these are my thoughts.

 

inequalitywordcloud-sm

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
One thought on “Unequal Terms

  1. Pingback: (Lack of) Equality | It's Mayur Remember?

Leave a Reply

