Ready, Set, Done

Writing

Writing Prompt: 10 minutes. You and your keyboard (or smartphone. Or tablet. Or pen and paper). No pauses, no edits, no looking back: it’s free-write time!

Ten Minutes on the Clock…..

I finally figured out why I don’t care for these free writes…. they remind me oh high school, we would have this notebooks and every day for 10 minutes we had to just write, many times I just wanted to sit down and write one word over and over again. We were to write whatever we wanted, no holds bared; our teacher never read what we wrote, and we would get points based on whether we wrote or not… I distinctly remember our “journals” being 20% of our overall grade. Strange how I remember that, but then I guess I have The Daily Post to thank for that.

I think one of the things that I have learned during these free write exercises is that sometimes previously repressed thoughts and emotions surface, but then again I might write total incoherent nonsense for ten minutes. It doesn’t matter. Most of us have a compulsive habit of editing as we write, resulting in a repression of thoughts and emotions we consider unacceptable or “not good enough.”

I’m gonna say this one time and one time only, I think I’m actually starting to like these things.

Until Next Time,

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

