Nail Polish Lottery Club : Week 92

nail polish lottery club

Week 92 Random Number is 143

Essie’s Marshmallow

marshmallow

nail border

Are you still not sure what the Nail Polish Lottery Club let me give you a quick rundown; It’s a club for nail polish lovers. Do you have lots of nail polish you never used before? Put all your untried polishes into an excel sheet and every week we pick a random number and wear a different nail polish, then we post the results on our YouTube channel, blog, or on the NPLClub Facebook page! Totally easy right? If you’d like to join us feel free, we’re all totally cool!! Nail Polish Lottery Club guidelines link Nail Polish Lottery Club Facebook page Use the hashtag: #nplclub on Twitter and Instagram

nail addict

Last week I wore which was a perfect shade for autumn, seems almost fortuitous that I for a Mariah Carey polish considering all the publicity she’s getting for her Tone Deaf Tokyo Tour….Elusive Chanteuse Show and the fact that she can’t hit a note… but we are not talking about her performance (which is a hot mess) but we are talking about the polish….the removal process was super easy and it took less time than it usually does, and I think that has to do with new nail polish remover I’ve been using, but I didn’t experience any staining which is always a plus.

nail border

20140925_151433“Marshmallow is a cloudy sheer white, perfect for a French manicure.” well at least according to Essie, and honestly I tend to agree.. I love white, but honestly I tend to use it was a base or only for nail art… but this is the perfect standalone white polish. Generally when I use a white polish the application is streaky and it’s filled with problems and I either give up half way through or not happy with the overall appearance (it either looks lumpy, or it’s  mega white and nearly blinding).

I had heard a lot of good things on a nail polish group that I’m on and with my previous issues finding the “right white” I figured it wasn’t gonna hurt anything but my wallet to give this one a try. I got to Ulta and I wasn’t able to find it, after talking to store associate she was not only able to locate it but she pointed out the20140925_151447 super bargain bin… I was able to get China Glazes for 99 cents….she is my new favorite person at Ulta…. seriously. So I get this polish and I’m super excited about it. I wanted to try it out immediately but I was wearing another polish that I was smitten with and didn’t want to remove at the time.

But finally the time has come wear it and to tell my reader how I feel about it. Marshmallow Is a milky “jelly” white crème, no shimmer. For the most part I don’t have any issues with Essie polishes, but my major concern about this polish was that it was so thin and it took 3 coats to get about 80% opacity. Because you are applying three sometimes four coats it takes a while for the nail polish to dry. After being extremely careful after painting my nails and waiting 3 hours to go to bed I woke up to find that I hand imprints in the polish… which was extremely disappointing; after two coats of topcoat the “imperfections” were barely noticeable, but the experience  left a sour taste in my mouth. After doing a bit of research a lot of people complain about the lighter shades being thin. This puts me in between a rock and a hard place because on one hand I didn’t enjoy previous white nail polishes because the formulas were thick and now I’m complaining that this polish is too thin….what’s a girl to do?3

This is a nice color, I’ll admit that. But if you look online the color if this polish varies a lot depending on the light . One blogger called it, “taupe colored neutral”. So my search for the perfect white continues next white that I’ll be trying is OPI’s Funny Bunny which is an exact dupe or perhaps My Vampire is Buff… but I’m hoping the formula is better…which me luck!

Tsuki being a feline supermodel gave one her her best poses to date…no word on her thoughts on this polish… but it sure does match the background well. As for me,  I have a serious love/ hate relationship with this polish for in fairness it get’s a middle of the road 5 out of 10. What’s your go-to white nail polish?

Essie’s Marshmallow retails for $8.50.

20140929_171314

 

Until Next Time…

tyra-signature_thumb.png

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward – All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

