The Great Divide

Writing

 

Writing Prompt: When reading for fun, do you usually choose fiction or non-fiction? Do you have an idea why you prefer one over the other?

First of all I love books, and I love reading, I think that people should read what moves them. But I think that non-fiction forces the reader to use critical thinking, while fiction allows the user to use their creativity. Reading enables the mind to think over objects of interest, which enable a person in making informed decisions, its food for the soul, for it nourishes the human intellect in probing things deeper, analyzing things, and provide guidance to people, to instances they have not yet been exposed to life.

I spent a LOT of time in school. And I spent more time than I wanted reading in college and in grad school… so back then when I wanted to relax I gravitated towards fiction…romances in particular…. there is nothing more satisfying that getting lost in a story, and being able to read it until the story was done (as is the case when I read a Harlequin Romance).  As I’ve gotten older my tastes have changed a bit, I still love a good romance story, but I’m open to a lot more genres… I always tell people that a good makes me want to either curse out the author or give them a hug (Okay that’s not true… I read 50 Shades of Grey, and I REALLY wanted to smack E.L. James because the story was so poorly edited and her character Anastasia  was so cringe worthy I used wanted to scream, “are you seriously that damn stupid!” and that story was really not all that great). Lately I’ve been reading a lot of books about American History and Biographies on Monarchs of Europe..who knows what I’ll be reading in the net few weeks…. there are so many books, and so little time.

bookandcat

 

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

