Tyra Takes on Weight-Watchers : Week 1

Fitness

Today was officially week one of my Weight Watchers Journey. The day I had been dreading since Tuesday… my weigh-in day! I am happy to report that I have lost a total of 0 pounds! I know…standing still this week was a victory because I was positive that I had gained some weight (I mean I physically felt bigger),  Last Sunday and Monday I felt really good and strong and super motivated, but something happened on Tuesday, I got so bad news and I started to eat. … it’s been a LONG time since I’m had a bout of emotional eating.

Instead of crying and allowing myself to feel my emotions (fear and overwhelming sadness) I drowned what I was feeling in cookies and ice cream. I recognize what I did, and I felt so bad about it… in fact the guilt that I felt only compounded what I was initially feeling.

I had begin to feel stagnant in my weight loss, and the recent weight gain made me feel resigned to the fate that I was gonna gain all the weight I had loss back, and I didn’t want to go back and start from the very beginning. I know Weight Watchers isn’t gonna solves all of my problems, but I’m hoping that it can give me the tools to help it a little easier. The transition from calories to points was a somewhat difficult one. I am still counting my calories (I have 250+ days of tracking food with MyFitnessPal) and I’m generally staying in the 1200 calorie range….I’m learning that it’s not really about the calories (as I have been eating a LOT of empty calories) but the quality of the food that I’m eating.

Sunday was the day that I started my own success story…and a transformation is in progress!

Here’s an overview what I learned/observed this week:

  1. I have incorporated a lot more fruit and vegetables into my diet… it’s amazing. I’m working on trying eat fruits instead of sugary snacks.
  2. I also cut back on eating bread/starch with every meal. I’d been eating two slices of Ezekiel bread topped with avocado for breakfast and I swapped this out for eggs and fruit. This week I was eating rice, quinoa and/or sweet potatoes as my complex carbs for the day.
  3. I didn’t exercise quite as much as I had planned to do I did about 30 minutes 5 days this week, The plan has always do get back up to the 1 1/2 hours I was doing before. I want to get stronger to that I can compete in 5K’s and runs next Spring/Summer
  4. I ate 32 of my extra Flex points (I get 49 extra points to use any way I want each week). Not gonna lie, some of them were used on donuts and pizza
  5. I am on a mission to wear the exact same outfit to my Sunday weigh-in’s/meetings… let’s see how long this lasts..

This week I want to continue working on making good, healthy chooses, and incorporating more power foods into my diet.

 

H. Jackson

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
23 thoughts on “Tyra Takes on Weight-Watchers : Week 1

  1. i’ve toyed with the idea of doing weight watchers again. i need something to help me get my eating under control. the only problem is i don’t have access to the internet at work (and am not allowed to have my cellphone at work as well), so it makes tracking as i eat impossible. i would have to either track it all before work with what i plan to eat or write it down as i eat it and then track it when i get home. i mean, either way would work, really. it would just be nice to be able to participate in the forums and such that WW has online. i might be getting a raise soon, maybe i’ll rejoin if that happens. hmm…anyway, really liking your blog

    Like

    • Weight watchers actually has a calcultor that you can purchase…so you can track if you don’t have access to the internet.
      Portion Control it’s difficult for me. So I’m working on measuring and weighing everything.
      I was on the fence about joining for months..partly because I didn’t want to pay. But I was lucky that my insurance has a program that will pay for 12 weeks and if I can lose 11 pounds (5 percent) they will pay for 12 more weeks….In going I can do it.
      It really good for me to go to meetings..outs nice to have that support and know I’m not the only one struggling on this journey.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Tyra Takes on Weight Watchers : Week 3 | Random Acts of Snark

  3. Pingback: Tyra Takes on Weight Watchers : Week 4 | Random Acts of Snark

  4. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers–Week 5 | Random Acts of Snark

  5. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers -Week 6 | Random Acts of Snark

  6. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers -Week 7 | Random Acts of Snark

  7. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers -Week 8 | Random Acts of Snark

  8. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers -Week 9 | Random Acts of Snark

  9. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers -Week 10 | Random Acts of Snark

  10. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers – Week 11 | Random Acts of Snark

  11. Pingback: Tyra Takes on Weight Watchers–Week 12 | Random Acts of Snark

  12. Pingback: Tyra Takes on Weight Watchers -Week 13 | Random Acts of Snark

  13. Pingback: Tyra Takes on Weight Watchers–Week 14 | Random Acts of Snark

  14. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers–Week 15 | Random Acts of Snark

  15. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers – Week 16 | Random Acts of Snark

  16. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Week 27 | Random Acts of Snark

  17. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Weeks 28–33 (But seriously who’s counting?) | Random Acts of Snark

  18. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: 1 Year and a Restart Later | Random Acts of Snark

  19. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Prednisone Sucks | Random Acts of Snark

  20. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Oprah, Getting Talked Off the Ledge, Smart Points and Surviving It All | Random Acts of Snark

  21. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers: Ugh, What The Heck? | Random Acts of Snark

  22. Pingback: Tyra Takes On Weight Watchers – Oprah Can Eat Bread….. | Random Acts of Snark

Leave a Reply

