Hand Me Downs

Writing

Writing Prompt: Clothes and toys, recipes and jokes, advice and prejudice: we all have to handle all sorts of hand-me-downs every day. Tell us about some of the meaningful hand-me-downs in your life.

I love hand-me downs, although at this stage in my life I call them “previously owned”… My mother’s closet is a treasure trove and any chance I get I love to explore it…. that’s one the good things about weight loss I supposed… I didn’t have to spend a lot of money on clothing, if there was something particular I need to wear for tan occasion I just head over to her house. There is quite an age difference between me and my younger brothers; between my younger brother there is a 7 year difference and the difference between my youngest brother is 12 years. So I’ve always had to play the roll of second mother, so along the way I hope that I’ve passed on some toughness or assertiveness to them. So there were only a few toys that made it between my brothers and I . And sharing clothes simply was something that never happened. Except that one time.

My younger brother was maybe two, and my mother always used to buy me tights these thick tights to wear with my uniform (they short of reminded me of a cable knit sweater (I don’t think they even make tights like that anymore) and somehow in the wash they shrunk and I could no longer wear them, it being winter time and the fact that they didn’t make thermal underwear for two year olds my mother improvised… under his pants he wore my tights for a little extra warmth.  Back then I was scandalized … but as an adult I think it was genius…

The most important thing that has been passed down from my great-grand mother, to my grandmother, and my mother and me is a strong sense of self and perseverance…and although I don’t have any children to pass these along to, my future nieces and nephews will once day say, “remember what auntie Tyra said…..”

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

