Adult Visions

 

Writing

Writing Prompt: As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?

My adulthood sucks compared to the visions of adulthood I had as a child. When I was a kid I was in such a rush to grow up, I couldn’t wait to be 16 because I knew something magical would happen… then I couldn’t wait to be 18, because I would finally be an adult, once I turned 18, I know that 21 was gonna be it I was gonna be a full fledged card carrying adult. When I was a child I used to sit down and write what my future would hold. I was gonna be a secretary or a school teacher, married by 25 and have my first child my 29 I would be living the American dream and totally living the life by the time I was 35. That was my dream life, let me tell you how my actual life turned out. I can barely remember my 16th birthday. My 18th birthday I spent celebrating not only my birthday but my high school graduation and my younger brothers entrance to middle school. When I turned 21 I was having my first liver transplant, my full fledge entrance to adult food was filled with anti-rejection mediation and 6 month case of CMV that required my to have low chemotherapy treatment twice a day.

Never in my imagination did I think that my adulthood would turn out like this, for years I looked back on that list and thought about the life that could have been. And there were times when I tried to “course correct” but it never turned out right. When I was temporarily “back to normal” I chose my education over starting a family (as most of my friends did). And at 37 I’m not married, I never had those children, the life that I wished for is now plagued with post-transplant rituals and careful watching of Multiple Myeloma. My life is certainly not one that anyone would trade me for, but I am happy for the journey that I’ve taken, it’s made me incredibly strong and resilient. I appreciate every single day…. because I don’t know how long I will have. My story might be similar to many others in the fact that what I dreamed never turned into reality; but that’s okay; despite my challenges I have a pretty great life… one things for certain if I had a chance to go back and take to my 16 year old self. I would tell her to slow down, and enjoy being a child, because adulthood isn’t what it’s cracked up to be

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
2 thoughts on “Adult Visions

Leave a Reply

