Tyra is in Love With Food–August 2014

 

DSC03036

 

Don’t you just love the summer? I always say that Chicago is at it’s absolute best in the summer. Festivals, block parties, concerts, and Fairs…Although we don’t have county fairs we do have State Fairs, which are fantastic, I didn’t make it to the Illinois State Fair, but I do go to the Wisconsin State Fair (I’m a Wisconsin girl, plus it’s closer) Why am I mentioning fairs? Because this month’s theme is “Fun at the County Fair” And of course I got to see the exhibits, and the animals, but more than anything I’m there for the food

Love With Food

Cost: Tasting Box: $12/month / Deluxe Box: $19.95/month. Ships To: United States including its territories and APO/FPO/DPO Boxes.  I do have a Disclosure Policy But I do in fact pay for a Deluxe Box Every month (But if you want to send me a free box, I certainly wouldn’t be opposed to it)

DSC03035

I hooked up with Love With Food after the Goodies Box ended (I was getting box the regular and the Kids box… no judging, I like my snacks!) and they referred me over to LWF. I like the idea of learning about new products that I normally wouldn’t have known about. And I especially love that a with each purchase of a LWF box 1 meal is donated (two meals when you get order the deluxe box) Recently Love With Food Introduced a Gluten Free Box that has about 8-12 snacks per month; it costs $25  

The very first thing that I noticed when I opened the box is that they redesigned their information card…. well I guess it’s no longer a card, it’s actually a pamphlet  that give more detailed information about the products and the companyCollage

 

DSC03047Montreal Steak Spice Seasoning Potato Chips When I first saw the bags I was a little iffy, I’m not a big plan of Barbeque flavor, but they certainly did taste exactly what they mean to.. steak spice on potato chips. honestly they were too bad I would have preferred that they used a little bit less spice, because after a while thy get really salty and at the end of eating a big I felt like my mouth was burning….Honestly I felt like if I wanted to have this experience again I could recreate it myself…The bags that I got were 1.25 ounces. These are Glutton-free, and you can get a case of 13 bags for about $45.00.  each bag (36g) is 180 calories

 

Pineapple+Coconut Fruit Ice This product certainly seems targeted toward children, when I got ready to review it I realized that it need to be frozen… duh!!! This products is available on AmazoDSC03039n as well as Whole Foods and well as other Natural/Whole Grocery chains This product is verified non-GMO, Vegetarian and Glutton Free , each Smooze is around 70 calories and comes in a 65ml package.

 

 

 

DSC03040Cinnamon Grahams If you frequently fly on Jet Blue then you probably recognize this product. These squirrel shaped snacks are completely nut free (hence the name). I received two 1oz packages, but it also comes in a larger 10oz boxes. The website has a store locator to find a store closest to you, but you can by this product # 10oz boxes ) from Amazon, but apparently at this time this product is sold out. This product is whole grain with no fructose corn syrup and this product is about 130 calories per serving.

 

 

Salt Water Taffy I received both the Salty Peanut and the Salty Carmel Apple taffy. Salty Road makes six different flavors which include; Peppermint, Sea Salt Carmel (yum!), Vanilla  and Bergamot. The box comes in DSC030463.5 oz  boxes there are retailers in most major cities as well as Canada and England, but you can also buy this product from stores like Dean and Deluca and Treatsie . The only issue that I had with the candy is that it’s in the traditional wax paper and isn’t not marked which flavor you are eating and they all look the same so it really is a surprise what you’re getting. Each box weigh’’s 3.5oz

 

 

 

DSC03041Nutty Rice Bites with Blueberries  Comes in a 1.25oz bag and retails for about $1.49. You can get a 10% discount when you purchase a case of 10. I actually crunched this up and ate it worth my yogurt… it was fantastic! Each bag is 70 calories, so it’s the perfect low calorie treat

 

 

 

 

 

Crispy Cheddar Crackers these crackers have no cholesterol, no hydrogenated oils, preservatives or flavors. These remind me of the regular  cheddar crackers that I eat. The package that I received are DSC03043 1oz bags and you can buy this product in bulk at Amazon and there is a whole wheat variety as well… taking a page from Love With Food, I crunched these up and up them on top of my taco soup (I ran out of corn chips) Super YUM!!! Each bag (28g) is 130 calories

 

 

 

DSC03042Kettle Sweet Peanuts As far as I’m concerned you can never go wrong with nuts, these are a combination of salty and sweet, but these are gonna be used for the recipe for the cookies. Each bag is roughly 1.5oz and 140 calories. These can be purchased directly from the Love With Food website for 8 packages for $12.99

 

 

 

Lollipops You can get over 40 lollipops for 7.99 these are perfect if you have little ones, or a sweet tooth like me…these a perfect for you. I saw them in the box and stuck them in my purse cause you never know DSC03045when a sweet tooth is gonna strike you.

DSC03044Redwood Smoky BBQ Multigrain Chips These are, Gluten Free, Non-GMO and Vegan. When you think of healthy stuff you think of brown rice, Quinoa, Chia and Flax seeds… plus Garbanzo and all sorts of other things… I gave them to my younger brother and he said, “they aren’t bad” from him that’s high praise.. this products comes in 1.5oz and 6oz bags with calories of 140 for one serving.

 

 

 

Nut Butters My box included honey peanut better and chocolate hazelnut butter. It varies in calories based on the butter you receive, they come in several different varieties, so I’m sure there is something for everyone.DSC03038plus they have peanut butter cups! SCORE. This product comes in an 80 calories squeeze pack, 1.15oz squeeze pack and the traditional 16oz jar.

 

 

 

 

images

Coupons were a little thin this month, I only got one from Skeeter Nut Free for $1 off (if I purchase through Amazon) . I think my favorites from this box were the crispy cheddar crackers and the nut butters. Overall all I would give this box a 9 out of 10, but the products were great but I think they were reaching a but far trying to make them fit the theme. I’m looking forward to what they send next month

Not only that… there was a recipe from the Love With Foods Test kitchen. If you are looking for other recipes click

BLUE RIBBON CHOCOLATE PEANUT COOKIES (No Bake)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Butter
  • 1/3 cup Cocoa Powder
  • 1/2 cup Whole Milk
  • 1/2 cup Chopped Kettle Sweet Peanuts
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Vanilla
  • 3 cups Quick Oats

Method:

  1. Combine sugar, butter. cocoa and milk in s medium pot. Cook over medium eat, stirring, until smooth. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 2 minutes.
  2. Remove cocoa mixture from the heat and ass peanut butter, salt and vanilla. Stir until smooth.
  3. Fold in oatmeal and peanuts. Stir until coated. Let the mixture in pot for 1 minute
  4. Using a spoon, scoop the batter onto parchment paper or wax paper. The cookies can be any size that you like. Leave on your kitchen counter for a few hours to cool and enjoy.

Did you get Love With Food this month?  What’d you think?  If you are interested in signing up click hereSubscriptions (for a regular box) are $12/month, but click here and you can get your first box for FREE!

Do you subscribe to Love With Food? What was your favorite product in the box this month?

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

