Tyra Cooks?… Taco Soup

 

tyra cooks

Recipe type: Soup

Cuisine: Mexican

Prep time:  15 minutes taco soup

Cook time: 6 hours

Total time:  6 hours 15 minutes

Serves:   around 16

Naturally when I see a recipe and I think it looks like something I would like to try I instantly start devising ways to make it better (well not better, but tailor it to me) and that’s exactly what I did with this recipe.

The original recipe caloric content comes in at 391 calories and my version comes in  slightly lower  with 376 calories. To be fair both recipes were calculated the same way and original soupthe only optional ingredient included are the black olives. Obviously your nutritional values will change based on the brands and products that you use for your recipe.

                                 

Ingredients

tyra ingredDSC03013

Instructions

Brown the ground beef and onions in a large skillet; drain the excess fat, then transfer the browned beef and onions to a large slow cooker or a stockpot. DSC03015

Add the beans, corn, tomatoes, green chiles, black olives, green olives, taco seasoning, and ranch dressing mix DSC03017

cook in a slow cooker on low for 6 to 8 hours or simmer over low heat for about 1 hour in a pot on the stove. DSC03019

 

DSC03022DSC03023

Top with whatever toppings you like SmileIn the end I didn’t use the corn chips (forgot to get them from the grocery store) and didn’t use the onions or pickled jalapeno’s as garnish, just a bit of shredded cheese and sour cream

 

In end I was able to fill these container with the soup, so one goes in the fridge and one goes into the freezer

DSC03027

I added all the ingredients into my My Fitness Pal and out popped this information. The original recipe can be found here. Let me know if you made this recipe and if you tweaked it

Until next time…. happy cooking!!

tyra signature

Leave a Reply

