Matters of Taste

am-i-the-only-one-that-hates-the-hunger-games

Writing Prompt: When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

I’ll be the first to tell you that I’m always the last one to a party. I just started watching Dr. Who, I’ve finally finished watching Sherlock (which I love to bits, than you very much), I literally have a list of about 15 shows/series that I want to watch. The PR Machine on the Hunger Games was vast, there were fast food tie-in, even nail polish collections (which yes, I took advantage). Finally when the movie came to video, “I figured heck I’m spending less than 2 bucks, no big deal” Needless to say after 30 minutes I turned the movie off, I could take it, I found the movie to be a little but to violent and I had to watch something else to take my mind off of it. But it lingered on my mind for the rest of the night, I even wrote a Facebook post about it

In all fairness anyone who knows me would probably tell you that, it takes very little to make me cry… EVERYTHING makes me cry. The story hit a little bit too close to home. Living in Chicago more often than not you hear of a child killing another child in a violent act,  it’s a harsh and bitter reality… maybe I watched it  on the wrong day, maybe I was hoping for a little while I could watch a movie for simple and pure enjoyment.

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
One thought on “Matters of Taste

  1. Pingback: Divergent Series . . . Better Not! | TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

