Second Opinion

Writing Prompt: What are some (or one) of the things about which you usually don’t trust your own judgment, and need someone’s else’s confirmation?

As a general rule of thumb I am always second guessing myself, it’s certainly not something that I’m proud of, but I’m always concerned about how my decision will affect others and if I’m doing the right thing; so needless too say it takes a long time for me to come up with a conclusion… and while I’m pondering it causes a lot of restless nights and maybe a bit of stress eating thrown in their for good measure.

Calling my mother to seek her advice is second nature to me, and I can honestly count a handful of times that I didn’t take her advice (mostly because I thought she was nuts) but calling her and asking her opinion generally yields the same answer, “Tyra, you’re gonna have to do what you think is right” all the while I’m thinking, “IF I KNEW WHAT WAS RIGHT I WOULDN’T HAVE ASKED FOR YOUR OPINION!!!” It’s exasperating. Because if I had any other mother in America I’m sure they wouldn’t hesitate to tell me what they thought, now don’t get me wrong, my mother can’t keep her mouth closed when it comes to my health care decisions… many times I’ve had to remind her that I am the adult, and I’m the patient and it’s my body.

So my mother, God love her doesn’t think that I’m capable enough to make decisions for my own healthcare, but I can totally make decision on other things in my life…I recently mention that I wanted to go sky diving to celebrate my next milestone birthday… not on word….

(Did I even answer this question?)

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

