Sounds Right

index

Writing Prompt: This is clearly subjective, but some words really sound like the thing they describe (personal favorites: puffin; bulbous; fidgeting). Do you have an example of such a word (or, alternatively, of a word that sounds like the exact opposite of what it refers to)? What do you think creates this effect?

I hate that this is a prompt, cause honestly my answer is gonna make me cringe…Smegma (yuck!) I guess that’s better than penis (cottage) cheese… (double yuck!!). Other words that make me cringe and sound like the thing they are (and least to me) are : moist, panties (I don’t know what that once bothers me).

But here’s something, here’s a word that is the exact opposite: Funambulist… it sounds like some old timey carnival ride when it simply means to walking on a tightrope….

Thank goodness this is over, I think I may have to go hurl….

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

