Friend Makin’ Mondays: Feeling Fruity

So it’s time for my Mountains and Molehills again. Molehills suck….This week I am going through some serious insomnia… always tired, not sleeping… super crabby I think it’s pretty self evident But I did have an awesome Mountain…. I went to the zoo; Brookfield Zoo to be more specific. I haven’t been since I was a child, for some reason I thought that it was a lot farther than it was… best part was I purchased a Zooper Fun Pass, which allows you to see all the special exhibits and you can continue to come to the zoo throughout the season all for the bargain price of 30 bucks. So I’ll defiantly be back a few more times before the new year. As crazy as it sounds I want to go to the zoo when it’s cold..just to have the experience. Now here’s the portion of the show when I show you pictures!

 

DSC02991DSC02961DSC03002sealionDSC02958DSC02988

If you’ve taken part in Friend Makin’ Mondays before then you are familiar with the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to read and comment on a couple of other post.

Before we begin due to a hiatus last week I did another FMM “Flashback“…. so check it out?

FMM-300x166_thumb[2]

Feeling Fruity

1. What is your favorite fruit?

Pineapple and strawberry.

2. Is there a fruit that you really really don’t like?

Papaya. I can’t look at them without getting sick to my stomach, smelling this is even worst.  YUCK!

3. If you could only drink one fruit juice for the rest of your life, what flavor would it be?

Apple..more specifically Martinelli’s apple juice

4. Tomatoes – fruit or vegetable?

Although technically it’s a fruit… I use it as a vegetable in cooking? Blueberries, raspberries, and oranges are true fruits, and so are many kinds of nut. Some plants have a soft part which supports the seeds and is also called a ‘fruit’, though it is not developed from the ovary: the strawberry is an example…. confused yet?

5. How many portions of fruit do you eat a day?

It really depends on the day… sometimes none, sometimes more than 5 …. I have found it more difficult to get my portions in because of the fact I have food restrictions due to being on a blood thinner , so I can only have a serving of a dark green fruit/vegetable a week… which sucks because I was the girl who had a ginormous salad at least 3 times a week.

6. if you were making a smoothie what fruits would you add?

Blueberries, Strawberries and Banana

7. Are you allergic to any fruits?

Yes.. citrus fruits. I can eat them but I have to limit the amount. I remember when I was younger my grandfather would always makes us this huge basket with apples and oranges and nuts for the holidays… I would eat all the oranges then wake up the next day with a rash around my mouth… and my mother would just look at me like, “that’s what you get for bing greedy”… my middle school I stopped.. the itchy rash wasn’t worth it anymore.

8. Do you have a favorite fruit recipe? Feel free to share the recipe with us.

Oatmeal-Brown Sugar Baked Apples (Serves 4, easily multiplied for larger crowds)

    • 4 apples, like Jonagold, Fuji, or Honeycrisp

 

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (dark or light)
  • 1/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • Pinch cloves
  • 1 tablespoon butter, divided in four
  • 1 cup hot water

 

Optional extras: orange zest, lemon zest, grated ginger, candied ginger, raisins or other dried fruit, chopped nuts, cream cheese, mascarpone, peanut butter, nutella

To serve: ice cream, crème fraîche, whipped cream

Pre-heat oven to 375°F with a rack in the lower-middle position. Remove the core of the apples, cutting to within a half inch of the bottom of the apple and creating a well roughly 3/4-inch wide. This is easy to do with an apple corer, but can also be done with a melon baller, grapefruit spoon, or a paring knife. Mix the brown sugar, oatmeal, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and any extras in a bowl. Divide this mixture between the apples, packing the wells firmly. Arrange the apples in a baking dish (like an 8×8 Pyrex dish), and top each one with a pat of butter. Pour the water into the bottom of the dish and cover loosely with aluminum foil. Bake for 20 minutes and remove foil. Continue baking uncovered until the apples are soft and the brown sugar has melted into a syrup, an additional 20 to 30 minutes. You can test the apples by poking a paring knife through the oatmeal mixture and into the interior of the apple; it should slide into the apple easily with no resistance. The skin on the apples will also become wrinkled and soft by the end of cooking.

 

Serve with a scoop of ice cream, crème fraîche, or whipped cream. Leftovers will keep for up to a week and can be reheated in the microwave or eaten cold

This is a recipe that’s easily customizable for people who are gluten free (use a gluten-free brand of oatmeal) or vegan (skip the butter and serve the apples plain of with coconut whipped cream). The best part of this is the basic recipe is only 97 calories….

9. Do you have any fruits that are local to your area?

appples

Not so much in Illinois. But our state fruit (because everyone has them is the Goldrush Apple (which is quiet pretty) It’s a cross between a Golden Delicious and other apples. But in Wisconsin people (me included) are crazy for cherries, more specifically Door County cherries.

10. What is your favorite fruit pie?

I love pie….apple, peach, pecan…. heck even a pot pie…. yum!!

Now it’s your turn to answer the questions. Don’t forget to come back here and leave a link to your post in the comments, so we can check out everyone’s answers.

Until Next Time!

tyra signature

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
3 thoughts on “Friend Makin’ Mondays: Feeling Fruity

Leave a Reply

