Nail Polish Lottery Club – Week 76

20140607_152740 DSC02923DSC02934

So for the month of June I said that I was gonna be on a “No Buy”  There is a certain amount of weight that I wanted to lose this month and I said that I wouldn’t buy any polish until I lost the weight…. but something happened. Walgreen’s had it’s Sinful Colors 99 cent sale again… I forgot to cancel my Julep box for the month, then I got my birthday coupon from Sally’s, then I went on vacation where my brother and sister in law gave me polish, then I went to Walgreens when I was on vacation and got more polish, got home then got another Sally’s coupon and went to get MORE polish… the Father’s day came around…. and I went to TJ Max and Marshalls… and I got MORE polish needless to say my No-Buy was an epic failure! Maybe I should try again net month. I’m slightly ashamed at the amount of polish that I have and the lack of self control (I didn’t even photograph all the polish I got….consider this the highlights…. but at least I’ll have lots to blog about)

nplc break

nplc

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM NUMBER IS 365

Alternate Number 36 +5 =41

Color Me Monthly’s Candied Clementine

1402626046056

Sweet and delicious simmered in sugar crystals yet stunningly tart

clem

nplc break

Are you still not sure what the Nail Polish Lottery Club let me give you a quick rundown; It’s a club for nail polish lovers. Do you have lots of nail polish you never used before? Put all your untried polishes into an excel sheet and  every week we pick a random number and wear a different nail polish, then we post the results on our YouTube channel, blog, or on the NPLClub Facebook page! Totally easy right? If you’d like to join us feel free, we’re all totally  cool!!

Nail Polish Lottery Club guidelines link
Nail Polish Lottery Club Facebook page

Use the hashtag: #nplclub on Twitter and Instagram

nplc break

I was looking to try something new, lately I have been really unhappy with the polishes that Julep has come out with, so on a whim I signed up for Color Me Monthly . Color Me Monthly is a monthly nail polish subscription that sends out an affordable bottle of non-toxic, vegan, and20140612_210653 cruelty-free polish in earth-friendly packaging. The subscription costs $7.00/month. This month I got something that honestly I wasn’t too jazzed about but I guess that’s the whole point of a subscription box service, try something new and get out of your comfort zone. And they’re giving away a 6-month subscription right now. clicky. I should also point out that the disclosure policy doesn’t count as I purchase this box myself!

1402625195905Candied Clementine  is an orange (think traffic cone orange)shade with yellow flecks of microglitter in it. Initially it goes on sheer, but it’s buildable and dries actually kind of matte. (which was a bit of a surprise to me) I requires at least three coats to get the achieved look. I was really happy to see that there was a good amount of microglitter in the first coat. And it’s very visible in the photos, it’s even more so in person. You can clearly see the microglitters in the bottle and the polish looks exactly the same on the nail, there is no color or shade variation at all.. Even without the use of flash (and if you can look closely you can see the microglitters on my nail..

20140612_210700The application of the polish was smooth and I had no issues at all with the brush. Although I was head over heels with my two previous CMM mailings, this wasn’t quiet me. The polish was a bit sheer for me and even after 3 coats there was still a VPL. Plus I’m not a fan of orange. But I did enjoy the shimmer and the application was great and it dried superfast. So this polish get’s a 7 out of 10! And if you’re looking for a good quality polish in a “surprise” color every month I would highly suggest signing up for this service.

I don’t think Tsuki was feeling it this week, she didn’t want to me photographed with the 1402637698306polish… maybe she felt like it was to cliché… you know orange and black… my cat is such a diva!

 

 

Until Next Time…
tyra-signature_thumb.png

Copyright © 2014 – Random Acts of Snark – Paying it Forward –  All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

