Nail Polish Lottery Club – Week 72

So my week 69 pick was one for the record books people. I had so many people write to me about their nail polish and how it turned out for me, I did a lot of testing with the polish, as mentioned in week 70 I purchased another bottle of the same polish so I got the same result, so I tried it again without a base coat… and I got the same. So finally after much frustration and outright confusion I contacted Sinful Colors via their website telling them about myDSC02791 experiences and asking them to finally settle the debate .. what this polish a matte or a satin finish.. well needless to say I got an email a day later saying that someone was going to look into the situation and get back to me soon. I rolled my eyes and figured that was the last I had heard from them…. well fast forward to this past Saturday when I got a letter from Erin Dillenschneider a Consumer Information Representative for Sinful Colors Professional, thanking me for  bringing my observations to their attention; although I didn’t get an answer about what type of finish Dream On was supposed to have I was given gift certificates for nail polish…so I guess this is something I may never know the answer to.  FYI: I didn’t realize that Sinful Colors parent company was Revlon…

These were the little beauties that I got with my gift certificates.

DSC02809

nplc break

nplc

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM NUMBER IS 307

Alternate Number 30 +7 =37

Nicole By OPI’s Better After Dark

DSC02812

nplc break

Are you still not sure what the Nail Polish Lottery Club let me give you a quick rundown; It’s a club for nail polish lovers. Do you have lots of nail polish you never used before? Put all your untried polishes into an excel sheet and  every week we pick a random number and wear a different nail polish, then we post the results on our YouTube channel, blog, or on the NPLClub Facebook page! Totally easy right? If you’d like to join us feel free, we’re all totally  cool!!

Nail Polish Lottery Club guidelines link :https://docs.google.com/document/d/1PJtYOL0VJjvrrfDVgK-3GSnjCcuyRDdj0Gb9IZKMjQA/edit
Nail Polish Lottery Club Facebook page:https://www.facebook.com/NailPolishLotteryClub?fref=ts
Use the hashtag: #nplclub on Twitter and Instagram

nplc break

A few months back Dove Chocolate and Nicole by OPI teamed up together for an amazing sweepstakes! 25,000 lucky winners received two Nicole by OPI Dove Chocolate inspired polishes and a coupon for a bar of Dove Chocolate! It was a sweet deal!! Better After Dark is the milk chocolate inspired nail polish  that’s a really nice red toned brown, packed full of pink micro shimmer. The formula went on well, it was a little sheer and streaky at first but evened out nicely.

As you can see from the first coat the nail polish is really thin and streaky, so I had to take extraCollage care to make sure the coats were even and didn’t pool on the nail., but once you allow the nail polish to dry and apply your second coat, the nail polish really shows it’s true shade an you can get a good amount of that microshimmer

 

DSC02818

I gotta say that Nicole by OPI did a really good job with getting the shade right, it looked so much like milk chocolate I actually had to smell to polish to make sure that it wasn’t scented.There is something about a brown nail polish that instantly makes my skin look better, to be honest I have never considered wearing a brown nail polish in the spring/summer months, but I actually like this; and as you can se the color on the nail is not that far off from the color in the bottle.

And here is the final color, please excuse the nails, clearly this was before I did a clean upDSC02821 around the cuticles and skin, I added an accent nail using Klean Colors’ Firework which gives it just a little bit of shine. I have said this before but generally I’m not a big fan of the Nicole by OPI line for me it seems to be very kitschy  and sometimes I just don’t “get it” I’m blaming the Kardashian collection; it  just ruined it for me (it might also have something to do with the fact that I think they are repulsive human beings…), but I think this one might have changed my mind.

Although the polish started off with a bad note by being thing and streaky, it really erased all of my bad feelings by the second coat. Plus this shade looks amazing on me. so I have to give it a high score. So Better After Dark has earned a solid 9 out of 10! (Although Tsuki seemed a bit unphased by the color…)

DSC02828

 

Until Next Time…
tyra-signature_thumb.png

Leave a Reply

