Friend Makin Mondays: Daily Routines

 

 

friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

First off let me say Happy 88th Birthday  to her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, I love this years birthday portrait… I always enjoy seeing the Queen smile.  And I think she looks quite lovely.(okay my Anglophilia is out of the way let’s move on)

1514611_731729213545299_5761382861540244736_n


This month I said that April is gonna be a challenge month for me. I usually do one photo-a-day challenge a month but for some reason (unknowns to me) I said I should be able to do more, so now I’m doing 4 (okay that’s not true, I’m currently only doing 3; some of FMS prompts left me asking, “what the hell?”… maybe next month)

So I’m doing the Spoonie April Photo challenge, The Idea Room Challenge and I’m still doing the 100 Days of Happy Challenge (which I am currently on Day 47). All of these can be found on my Instagram or by searching under the hashtags #100HappyDays,  #TheIdeaRoom  and #SpoonieAprilChallenge I generally post several times a day… with Tsuki making frequent appearances.

I wanted to do something a little different to start off the week. Lately at the end of the week I like to reflect on what the highs and lows of the previous week was… or as I like to call it… what were my Mountains and Molehills? So this past week my lowest was Friday, when I took Tsuki to the veterinarian, just for a wellness check, what prompted this visit was that I wanted her new doctor to have her medical records and I wanted to know when she needed to return for her vaccinations. The doctor felt something on one her mammary glands and she thinks that it might be cancerous, so next week she goes in for a biopsy; apparently this is very common in cats who aren’t spayed before her first heat… and I know that from her records she has a litter about a year ago and was spayed shortly there after, and there are so many things about her health history that are unknown because she was a rescue. The idea that my cat may have cancer is devastating to me (I know this might sound selfish) but I’ve only had her for 2 weeks and I don’t know if I am prepared emotionally or financially to care for her if things continue turn out badly, my mother made the comment, “that we can both survive cancer together” I have grown so attached to her and the possibility of losing her breaks my heart…

1378783_10152933081055995_726217010984485418_nMy high happened yesterday, I spent the day with my mom an step-day and my mom, brother and I were just casually chatting and talking about the tattoo that I am thinking about getting. This tattoo would symbolize my transplant and my cancer journey similar to the tattoo in the picture… then we started talking about piercings… then my mother mentioned The Prince Albert (click at your own risk) and my brother had no idea what it was… so I felt like it was sisterly duty to educated him and show him..the look on his face was priceless, I don’t think I have ever heard a grown man make such a high-pitched squeal. When they say laughter is the best medicine… they mean it!

 

 

 

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Daily Routines

1.Do you eat breakfast each day? If so what?

Breakfast is something that I continue to struggle with, which is odd because I love all breakfast foods, there is not a breakfast food that I wouldn’t eat..but I have major issues with my stomach in the morning, so I tend to eat light and on average I only get some toast, maybe a  waffle, most days I don’t eat breakfast because I’m running off to the gym … in that case I’m eating a bar on my way there, and lately due to extreme fatigue I tend to miss breakfast on account of I’m still sleeping and really don’t have the energy or the appetite to eat anything until 4 or so

2. How do you commute to work/school and how long does it take?

I’m not currently working or going to school, but pretty much EVERYTHING is no more than 20 minutes away… my grocery store and gym are less than 5, my mom is about 10 minutes away…. and because of everything being so close I only fill my tank once a month. And to be honest If I was working I don’t think that would change, traffic is horrible here in Chicago and parking prices are sky high, so public transportation would be  my option… which would put a lot more minutes on my travel times.

3. What is the first website you go to each day?

I know that Facebook is always open when I’m on my computer, but generally the last page I view is the very first page that reopens at the beginning of the day. That’s how I have my web browser configured, it’s really helpful because usually I fall asleep reading something so when I wake up and I continue when I wake up.

4. Do you check email/Facebook/Twitter before you get out of bed?

Yes!! I check it during those times when I can’t fall asleep. It’s a sad addiction that I can’t  stop. Just this morning when I got up to feed the cat I got checked Facebook, then Twitter and Instagram, then went back to bed… you never know when something might go down and need to be commented on…

5. Do you take lunch to works/school from home?

When I was working I brought my own lunch to work, a lot of times it’s was leftovers, other timesdownload salad a few times a month I would go out for lunch, I found that I saved a lot of money doing it this way, and after a while you realize that sometimes it’s not all that worth going out to grab something, especially when you have to quickly scarf it down before you head back to work..
When  I was graduate school… this was really difficult because I only had a half hour between when I got off work and when my classes started, so imagine me driving down Las Vegas Blvd to get to UNLV, sitting in traffic dealing with thousand of tourists and me eating dinner…good times

6. What time do you normally finish work/get home?

Since I don’t work a traditional job, I find that being a doula there are no normal hours… people give birth whenever there baby decides…..

7. Do you tend to plan your evening meals in advance or do you grab something on your way home?

When I started losing weight I decided that I need to be honest about what I eat and to start organizing some things, very honestly I was lay in bed at night and think about what I want to eat the next day..and I will have my meals “drafted out” in my head… now I know that things change, there are times when I skip breakfast so something comes up and I have to eat out, but I ALWAYS make sure to eat within my calorie range, Here’s an example, weekend I went out to a late lunch with a friend, so I went on the website and knew ahead of time and knew exactly what I was going to order and it was plugged in MyFitnessPal so I knew how many calories I had to play with for the rest of the day.
I mentioned that I had done that and some people think it’s smart and other people think I’m completely nuts, but that’s how I roll…

8. What do you typically do in the evening to relax?

photo1 (1)I play with Tsuki, it seems like no matter how I’m feeling playing with her, allowing her to get her little cat exercises is relaxing and brings smiles to me, I love to see her play. When she plays fetch (she has a ball that she only plays Fetch with…it’s a fuzzy white ball as seen in the picture) is the best (her eye’s light up an se makes this weird noise when her ball is in her mouth and she drops it in front of you… tell you she wants to play.. I swear my cat is part panther and part dog.

 

9. Do you fit exercise into your daily routine, if so how?

My exercise routine used to be Elliptical 60 minutes, the weights for 30, then a cool down walk for another 30 minutes, Now it’s really based on how I’m feeling Last night after some careful thinking I have decided to start back, but slowly, I really think that it will help me both mentally and physically, it’s so frustrating .. but if I can get out of the bed and do 10 minutes of yoga then that’s a win. today I need to go to the grocery store and get more milk and go to the bank, so I’m counting that as exercise today.

10. If you had an extra hour in your day what would you do with it?

Sleeping, I would used it to sleep. Lately it seems like no matter how much I sleep I can’t for the life of me get to the point where I will wake up feeling refreshed, even as I write this I am contemplating taking a nape (it’s currently 11am and I woke up about 45 minutes ago)

 

With the weather starting warm up, that’s a nice incentive to get out and walk around the block. I hope you all have a great week!

as my Norwegian friends say…

Inntil neste gang

tyra signature

2 thoughts on “Friend Makin Mondays: Daily Routines

  1. Sorry to hear about Tsuki, hopefully they can do a biopsy and it turns out to be nothing.
    I also check social media when I wake up in the night, its a bad habit I need to work on.
    Love that you included the Queen in your post 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you Sarah, I’m really a ball of nerves right now, as Tsuki biopsy is in the afternoon. I think me checking social media in the middle of the night has to do with me bening so nosey and always feeling like I was gonna miss out on something… like you I know that it’s a problem… but I’m not sure I’m ready to change it just yet.
    It’s was the Queen’s birthday… how could I not include her 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

