What I Ate Wednesday : Trying New Snacks

 

 

 WIAW

So clearly this is not an original thought WIAW was originated from Peas and Crayons  and a lot of other bloggers have started doing it as well; and since I can’t be original and I really like the idea of doing this… I decided to give it whirl as well. This will pretty much be a mish-mash of stuff,  some days I will try a new technique or perhaps I’ll be eating something for the first time as is the case today… and someday it might be leftover chili…who knows, and I guess that’s part of the fun. When I first started blogging it was to remain accountable with my exercise and food intake, so this is kind of takes me back… Very little of this is planned… but it’s 100% honest…

There is a reason why there hasn’t been a WIAW … well there are a few. The first one is that I haven’t really been up to doing a blog entry on that day, and the second is I wasn’t feeling that great for the past few weeks, even though I finally passed the kidney stone,  and started to feel better, I ended up passing another stone at home and have just not been totally “here” plus serious… I had some yogurt, some crackers and some ginger ale… throw some soup in there and that has been my food consumption…. it’s boring and who wants to read that?

I always want WIAW to be an accurate account of what I am eating. Not everyday I eat completely healthy, but more often than not I make healthy choices. Instead of cooking something this week, I’m eating leftovers…. I know they aren’t glamorous but we all eat them… plus we grilled the other when the weather was still really nice outside…so this week I will be highlighting snacks that came out of my Love With Food Box

 

wiawbreakfast

DSC02655The temperature has dropped 40 degrees? Are you freakin’ kidding me… I need something warm in my system. So this morning I grabbed my oatmeal… and I particular like my brand of oatmeal, it’s a  fat (me), lazy (me), diva’s (me) dream. Just add the water in the pouch to the line and microwave it for 2 minutes  … and bam… nice, hot, tasty oatmeal, with a nice glass of orange juice. 

 

 

 

wiawlunch

Wai Lana Cassava Chips DSC02657
I got this from my Love With Food box, and I wanted to try these . It generally takes me a  few times to like something, but I liked these on the first try… when I first looked at them they reminded me of/ and have the same texture of  Munchos (which I used to love as a kid) I was really expecting a strange after taste, but the only thing that I tasted was the sea salt seasoning that was on the chips… these were a winner!
Nothing fancy today just a pouch of my sandwich ready tuna, I added a little bit of mayo and smacked it on a lightly toasted wheat bread… took less than 4 minutes… told you I was in a lazy mood today.

 

 

wiawdinner

DSC02669Since we grilled the other night I just needed to make “side”. This night is a little bit out of the ordinary since I had white rice, which I don’t normally have and I also had some green beans, which is something that is also currently limited in my diet, since I am only allowed to have dark green vegetables once a week due to taking a blood thinner.  So I really enjoyed it… plus it was super quick to make… even thought I don’t use it often my rice cooker is great…makes perfect rice every single time.

 

 

wiawsnack

Emmy’s Chai Spice Macaroons 
DSC02628So I got these out of my LWF box.. and my first thought is …”they look raw” they I take a close look at the bag and I notice that this product is Vegan, Gluten Free AND made with raw ingredients… well I guess that’s why it looks the way it does, I’m not gonna lie I’m a LOT freaked out about this. I have an issue with texture… and I feel like this isn’t gonna feel right… but this is for science! DSC02675
The first thing that I noticed is the strong Chai scent that I totally approve of, and I really like the coconut, which I’m starting to enjoy, but I could not get past the “raw cookie” dough texture and as expected I couldn’t get passed it… so I didn’t eat much of it… meaning I couldn’t even finish one.

 

 

 

So here is my tally calorie wise…..

 

WIAW

My general caloric intake is 1200 calories per day, and I didn’t get a chance to work out but I was still able to come under my calorie goal today…. I gotta start adding some color in my diet, I’m looking at the pictures and I realize how bland my meals are starting to look.

This Wednesday I tried two  new snacks …. one was a winner and the other might need to go in the oven for a few minutes…

And that my friends is What I Ate this Wednesday; oh and before I forget if you want to follow me on MyFitnessPal

Until Next Time…

tyra signature

Leave a Reply

