Nail Polish Lottery Club – Week 65

For the past several weeks I’ve noticed a huge change in my hair and nails, my hair is starting to fall out… I’m pretty sure it’s the blood thinner that I’m taking and my nails have gotten so brittle that they break super easily, I actually pulled off my glove to find that I had broken 2 nails and the broken pieces where just chillin’ out in the gloves… so I just decided to chop them all off… it’s a better look that having nails of different lengths… this is the shortest my nails have EVER been and my finger tips feel weird, I’m seriously thinking about going to the nail place and asking them to put on some tips….

 

nplc break

Are you still not sure what the Nail Polish Lottery Club let me give you a quick rundown; It’s a club for nail polish lovers. Do you have lots of nail polish you never used before? Put all your untried polishes into an excel sheet and  every week we pick a random number and wear a different nail polish, then we post the results on our YouTube channel, blog, or on the NPLClub Facebook page! Totally easy right? If you’d like to join us feel free, we’re all totally  cool!!

Nail Polish Lottery Club guidelines link :https://docs.google.com/document/d/1PJtYOL0VJjvrrfDVgK-3GSnjCcuyRDdj0Gb9IZKMjQA/edit
Nail Polish Lottery Club Facebook page:https://www.facebook.com/NailPolishLotteryClub?fref=ts0
Nail Polish Lottery Club Twitter hashtag: #nplclub

 

nplc break

nplc

 

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM NUMBER IS 79

Alternate number 7 + 6 = 13

Essie’s Smokin’ Hot

13933173

 

20140331_194528According to the Essie website Smokin’ Hot is from Essie’s Winter 2010 A Winter’s Tale collection (but now apart of the permanent collection) a describes as a fox grey, but let’s be real and call it what it’s really is.. it’s a kind of purplish brown grey color. Grey is generally not a color that I can wear, for me grey seems like a hot or miss color; kind of like pink is for me. but this color is amazing, but as you can tell (and from when it was originally released) this polish is more suited to the Fall and Winter seasons and it really complements my skin tone. This color is very similar to Zoya’s Kelly but after looking online, there are several dupes to this particular polish…. some are even cheaper.

 

20140331_194624

As I mentioned before this is a great color; and the color on your nail is pretty much to color in the bottle,  while the Essie website explicitly states that this polish requires two-coats I’m here to tell you that this is simply not the case. This polish is very thin and streaky so even if you can get the look you require in two-coats, you’re gonna be touching up spots to remove the steaks that are present. Because I had to use three coats the dry time was a little bit longer than I’m used to… not totally surprised as I’m not a big fan of Essie; many because their formulas are not consistent and for the price I’m paying I’m gonna need more quality than what I’m currently getting.

 

Since the weather is really nice lately… it was nearly 70 degrees here in Chicago, I wanted to lighten up the nails so I used Sinful Colors’ Show Stopper as a topper and gave it a little sparkle…if my nails are gonna be short, then they sparkle is going to blind you! And then I sealed it with Sally Hansen’s Diamond Top Coat. So this polish is going to get a 5 out of 10, and that’s because I’m really torn; I’m not sure if I like it or loathe it.

20140331_195620

So I’ll be rockin’ short and sassy nails for a while…

Until Next Time,

tyra signature

Leave a Reply

