What I Ate Wednesday

WIAW

So clearly this is not an original thought WIAW was originated from Peas and Crayons  and a lot of other bloggers have started doing it as well; and since I can’t be original and I really like the idea of doing this… I decided to give it whirl as well. This will pretty much be a mish-mash of stuff,  some days I will try a new technique or perhaps I’ll be eating something for the first time as is the case today… and someday it might be leftover chili…who knows, and I guess that’s part of the fun. When I first started blogging it was to remain accountable with my exercise and food intake, so this is kind of takes me back… Very little of this is planned… but it’s 100% honest…

I would really love if people send me their quick and easy recipes…I’m love a crockpot recipe…

 

wiawbreakfast

20140319_054436Today was an early day I was up at 5am and out the door before 6,  to rush to the hospital so I didn’t have time to have a proper breakfast so I had a pour some Kefir on a glass and was on my way but not before I put dinner in the crockpot. Now I gotta say I love this stuff, it is a big thick… well it’s like drinking yogurt… but I’m not sure what’s in it, but it really does wonders for my “funky” tummy issues.

(And yes, this photo was taken in my car… told you it was on the go)

 

 

 

wiawsnack

20140319_084005I knew that after my early appointment I was gonna head to the gym right after so I grabbed a Cliff bar… I really like this particular flavor… I feel like I’m “cheating”

 

 

 

 

wiawlunch

20140319_090358Boy does it say a lot when a prepackaged frozen meal has more calories and sodium than anything else I’ve eaten all day today…. although I could have taken the time to prepare a meal I gotta say I was STARVING!! So I really wanted something quick and easy.

After taking this picture and demolishing it I realized that I was supposed to take a picture of the sandwich… but let’s be honest with each other, it NEVER looks like it does on the box… and that’s a way better picture than I could ever take.

The funny thing about these sandwiches is that I never close them? I don’t know why? Maybe have two halves makes me feel like I’m having more…. who knows I’m weird; I’ve never denied it.

 

wiawsnack

20140319_111756Almonds… my new favorite (and somewhat expensive) snack…

This particular blend honey roasted cinnamon (Target brand) and theses are fantastic… the perfect combination of salty and sweet

At the time that was posted I still hadn’t eaten the almonds, gonna hold off and have them as a snack before I head off to bed.

 

 

 

 

 

wiawdinner

It is fair to say that I was nervous about this. I had posted something on Facebook asking my friends to wish me luck, and apparently the consensus is to either microwave or simply bake the squash. I had another friend telling me how she crocked hers for six hours and it was mushy… so about 4 hours I was on “Squash Watch”

 

20140319_051358 First things first no matter how you cook it, you need to “Norman Bates” it… okay I’ll be nice you need to poke holes in it so that that steam trapped inside won’t make the squash explode.
No one wants to deal with the cleanup… so poke the holes and save yourself the energy
20140319_051815
20140319_081424

So the website that I consulted said to add a cup of water and cook it for six hours… I was all set to go, but then I had a teeny weeny set back…. the damn squash wouldn’t fit….so I had to “Hannibal Lecter” it (man what is it me with Movie serial killers today) to let it fit… as you can tell by the picture it was only a little but that I had to chop off

20140319_113538
20140319_14425420140319_144610
Around the five hour mark I noticed that I could press the Squash so I figured it was done. So I drained the water that was left inside and opened it so that it could cool.

Cutting it was super easy and pulling out the seeds… HOLY COW Squash smells a lot like pumpkin I instantly turned off I hate how pumpkin smells.  So like the brave little solider I am I tasted it…it tasted like…you know the taste is really not that distinct taste, but then again neither does spaghetti so I can’t really complain.

I was a bit shocked at how easy it was to “shred” the squash, and it looks like there is enough for 4 servings.

I added a bit of seasoning and a bit of EVOO to get the ball started

The thing is that when I brought it I was really nervous and thought that I had to use it right away, but apparently if you store them properly you can keep them for a while… Mine had been sitting around for 3 weeks waiting for me to get the courage to cook it…

And from what I am reading you really have to adjust the cooking time based on the size of your squash… so it’s a good idea to stay on “squash watch” if you can

20140319_090256
So once I squash was done I diced up some the rest of the tomato that was left in the fridge along with some  chicken that I trying to figure out what to do with…

To be honest I was still a bit unsure about what a serving is.. and so the calorie count on this isn’t all that accurate, but I ate about half of the squash (guess I’ll save the rest for tomorrow)
Used some jar sauce that I had and seasoned that sucker up…

The great thing about this is it’s totally gluten free, and it’s customizable to what you like… so it pretty much works for everyone.

20140319_173641 Probably should note that I put some cheese on top of my dinner… I took a wheel of Babybel and melted it when I warmed it up a bit. I got to say that the texture was a bit jarring, and for me it was hard to get past. It was like the texture of kraut… but don’t really… it just really tuned me off… maybe this is something that I need to get used to.

Another thing that shocked me was the amount of water that the squash holds … when I warmed up my plate I noticed that a lot of “water” was on it….wasn’t really expecting that.

So here is my tally calorie wise…..

wia1

 

Overall I don’t think I did to bad calorie wise. I will say that getting up super early has really messed up my schedule…

My general caloric intake is 1200 calories per day, and even when I do work (I “earned” an additional 893 calories for working out) I  try my best not to use those calories..

This Wednesday I tried something new…. not sure if it was a success or fail…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that my friends is What I Ate this Wednesday; oh and before I forget if you want to follow me on MyFitnessPal

 

Until Next Time…

tyra signature

Leave a Reply

