Nail Polish Lottery Club – Week 63

Since St. Patrick’s Day (Lá Fhéile Pádraig, The Day of the Festival of Patrick.. how ever you choose to call it ) was yesterday I feel like it was meant to be that this was my pick this week was a lovely green shade. I absolutely love that I live in a city that loves this holiday. The Parade and Dying the Chicago River is a really big deal in these parts….

 

 

imagesnplc

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM NUMBER IS 283

Alternate number 2 + 8 + 3 = 13

Ulta Salon Formula Nail Lacquer’s Limelight

 

Eek!!! I got 13… will it be unlucky for me???

20140315_225306

 

Are you still not sure what the Nail Polish Lottery Club let me give you a quick rundown; It’s a club for nail polish lovers. Do you have lots of nail polish you never used before? Put all your untried polishes into an excel sheet and  every week we pick a random number and wear a different nail polish, then we post the results on our YouTube channel, blog, or on the NPLClub Facebook page! Totally easy right? If you’d like to join us feel free, we’re all totally  cool!!

Nail Polish Lottery Club guidelines link :https://docs.google.com/document/d/1PJtYOL0VJjvrrfDVgK-3GSnjCcuyRDdj0Gb9IZKMjQA/edit
Nail Polish Lottery Club Facebook page:https://www.facebook.com/NailPolishLotteryClub?fref=ts0
Nail Polish Lottery Club Twitter hashtag: #nplclub

Limelight is (as the name implies) a lime green crème, and it’s the type of green that’s cute and trendy and something that you could incorporate into different season, when I initially purchased this polish it was intended for the fall, it never occurred to me until I pulled this polish as this week’s pick that it’s perfect for the spring/summer…
This color reminds me of grass, not sure if that actually the case of just a bit of wishful thinking since it’s still cold and dreary here in Chicago , and where there isn’t snow there is frozen, brown, grass *sad face*.

 

20140315_225143Be careful with this polish it’s on the thin side, so if you want a polish that is quick to put on before you go out on the town, this is NOT the polish for you. This polish takes between 3 to 4 coats to be opaque. When I put on the first layer, I was SHOCKED at how this it was, I knew that I hadn’t had the polish for this long, and I recently reviewed another Ulta Salon Formula polish and it wasn’t that thin at all. I put on the first layer and I was seriously about to pack it in… it was so thin you could barley see the polish at all on my nails. So I went to work on something else, while I allowed the polish to dry, and by the time the second layer was put on it didn’t seem like a complete loss. Turns out this polish was a shocker… by the fourth layer (yeah I know) I had seriously fallen in love with this color. But I kept wanted to add more layers of polish because it seemed like there was a some streakiness on some of my nails.. It’s trendy (I said that already), vibrant, 20140315_225207totally St. Pat’s AND it looks fantastic with my skin tone… I think that has something to so with the lack of yellow in this particular shade of green.

 

So let’s get down to the nitty gritty although my previous experience with brand of polish it’s clear that there is no real consistency across the board. Honestly as much as I love the color it takes a long time and a lot of coats for me to get the look that I wanted, and to me that seems like I’m getting less value for the money that I spent on it; and the color is simply not unique enough for me to recommend this polish to others.

If this polish was a little bit thicker and able to get the look that I wanted in coats, it would have scored a 10… that’s how much I loved the color, but it takes a lot of time, there is potential for streaks and smudges and you have to be REALLY careful with this… so I sadly have to give this polish a 4 out of 10 *sad face*

I really want to know if ?I was the only one who had this particular issue with this polish? Is it possible that I simply got hold of a bad bottle? Hopefully next  week’s pick will give me something fantastic… this was really a downer.

Until Next Time…
tyra signature

Leave a Reply

