Friend Makin’ Mondays: Holiday Traditions

I’m said that Kenlie is going to continue her blogging break for another month, but I get it! Real life comes first and although we miss (and love you) we all totally understand…. take as long as you need girl! So for the time being we are stuck with Sarah (I kid, I kid…) and here’s the best part she’s asking for topics… dude seriously, I got a billion ideas….So for any reason that you’re hesitating go over to Losing Weight and Having Fun and join the fun!!

I’m luck I live in a city where St. Patrick’s Day is SERIOUSLY celebrated… People of Irish decent and the Irish at heart get together. Ever since I was a little girl I would look forward to the Chicago River turning green (as the people in the city like to call it “our modern day miracle”… it add a little fun and whimsy to the holiday… and people come out every single year to see it happen…

Capture111So this is how it started, “In 1961 Stephen Bailey was approached by a plumber who was wearing some white coveralls, they knew this only because they could see some of the original color. These coveralls had been mostly stained or dyed a perfect shade of green, an Irish green to better describe it. It was when Stephen Bailey asked how the coveralls got this way, that they discovered that the dye used to detect leaks into the river turned green, not just any color green, but the perfect color green. “

Two miracles appear that day, the river turns a perfect shade of green something that many other cities have tried but have not been successful at doing, and the second miracle by starting with the 2356color orange giving the impression that river will be orange only to convert the river to that true Irish green. We believe that is where the leprechaun comes in.

As the late Stephen Bailey has said, the road from Chicago to Ireland is marked in green. From the Chicago River to the Illinois River, then to the Mississippi, up the Gulf Stream and across the Atlantic you can see the beautiful green enter the Irish Sea, clearly marking the way from Chicago to Ireland.

wpid-friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

Holiday Traditions

 

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

1. Do you celebrate St Patrick’s Day?

imagesGenerally I do a little something for St. Patrick’s Day. I went to an engineering college, and I’m a sorority for women in Engineering and Technical Sciences and St. Patrick is the patron saint on Engineers… so

But usually I’m wearing some green, eating a bit of corn beef, cabbage and potatoes. This year, non of that.. since it’s on a Monday and the only thing I usually do on Monday’s is clean… I guess I can find a bit of green to wear when I go to the gym this evening…

 

2. Which is your favorite holiday to celebrate?

Halloween hands down! I love it . I think it’s the one holiday that everyone can have fun dress up be silly and have a bit of candy!

 

3. Do you have a favorite ‘holiday’ food?

Every since I was a little girl I associated Carmel Apples with Halloween, and for a long time you could only findimages (1) this in the fall seasons….now I see them in the store all year round… and they sort of lost their appeal to me. Another food that I totally associate with the holidays…. wait it’s not even food is it and I hate the sight of it… but it’s Egg Nog, my youngest brother used to call it “Christmas Milk” and even though he’s in his twenties when ever the holiday season comes around I ask him should I pick up Christmas Milk for him…

 

4. What do you think of holiday parades?

I love parades , they sort of take me back to my childhood… but as a grumpy adult I don’t like to deal with the crowds, the people pushing, not being able to see and having to deal with getting out of the area… so I just watch them on TV… now I live in a city that loves it’s parades… and I watch every single one of the them… from the Christmas Parade to the Gay Pride Parade… I get my snacks…. turn off the phone and watch like I’m 7 years old.

 

5. Have you ever been part of a parade?

Nope

 

6. Do you decorate your house for the holidays?

  The last few years I haven’t celebrated

7. Do you send holiday cards?

Yes, it’s sort of a tradition…. but as I’ve gotten older I’ve noticed that I tend to get less and less…I think that a lot of people would use the holiday season to reconnect with people they don’t speak to on a regular basis… and now that there’s Facebook… you can write a little message on there wall and that’s it; doesn’t have the same sentiments but you do save on postage

 

8. Are there any holidays that you celebrate that are traditional in another country, but maybe less well known in the US?

I have a lot of Canadian friends so I do observe Canadian Thanksgiving (any day when people can take time out to be thankful for the things around them is alright by me)

 

So I’m full of holiday cheer… then I read this….   it’s like the day you find out there is no Santa Claus, what the heck???

Until Next Time….

tyra signature

2 thoughts on “Friend Makin’ Mondays: Holiday Traditions

  1. I read the same article – everything is a lie!!
    Turning the river green I had never heard of until yesterday, sounds like fun.
    I also love caramel apples. When my sister comes to visit (which happens to be next week) we always head to a local shop that makes them and get one 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

