10 Books That Have Stayed With Me

This was something that I saw on Facebook and while I was preparing to do it there I realized that there would be no Friend Makin’ Monday this week…. so I figured why not… let’s just do it on the blog and add a little bit of commentary. Compared to all the other Facebook “games” this one was actually fun since I really enjoy reading… so here goes…

images

 

So the “rules” (as posted on Facebook) are as follows: In your status line, list 10 books that have stayed with you. Don’t take more than a few minutes; don’t think too hard. They don’t have to be great works, just the ones that have touched you. Tag 10 friends, including me, so I’ll see your list……

There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly – by Pam Adams –  I remember reading and singing this with my mom when I was a little girl, and I remember just loving it and thinking it was the funniest thing in the world…. as an adult I’m thinking the old woman has a serious eating disorder and should have sought treatment, but she died so….

Tales of the Fourth Grade Nothing – by  Judy Blume – I was read this book in the 2nd grade, and I remember being really excited when it time for the teacher to read the class a chapter. I honestly believe this is what started my love affair of books. I made sure to read the ENTIRE series

Flowers in the Attic – V.C. Andrews  – My mother was a V.C. Andrews fan, and I swiped the book and read it, looking back now I know I was a bit young to really understand the subject matter BUT I remember being so angry, I didn’t understand how someone could be so cruel to their children

 It – Stephen King – This is the first book that scared be to the point that now every clown I look at is pure evil). Just the idea of this entity preying on young children is enough to freak me out… don’t believe me?images (1) Have you read my post about Nightmare on Elm Street ?

Sense and Sensibility– Jane Austen  – This was the first time I saw myself in a book, from that point on I knew I was Elinor Dashwood) I  read this book at few times a year and watch the movie at least once a month, I’m still pissed at Mr. Willoughby..but he got what he deserved in the end.

Summer Sisters – by Judy Blume  – I read this book while I was in the hospital after receiving my first liver transplant, I remember the doctor coming in and seeing me reading this book and he was shocked… he said as much.  And I remember thinking he was such a freaking prude. What is wrong with a young girl exploring her sexuality? Clearly he was responding to all the hype that was surrounding the book at the time, seriously it wasn’t that scandalous.

Bubbles Unbound–  by Sarah Strohmeyer – Seriously people who doesn’t love the name Bubbles Yablonski? And her mother… holy cow! This series was my very first foray into “Chick Lit Mysteries”  I picked up this book based on the name alone. This book introduced me to not only TastyKakes (at the time they weren’t sold in Wisconsin) and let me to other fabulous authors (and series) like MaryJanice Davidson ( Undead series) and Nancy Martin (Blackbird Sisters series)

The Joy Luck Club – by Amy Tan – I remember seeing the movie first then I read the book, even now I still think this is one  the best books that honestly looks at mother daughter relationships and how they shape you.

American Wife – by Curtis Sittenfeld  Alice Lindgren = Laura Bush? You Decide….

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee – This was the first book that I read that talked about the injustices in the world, it’s still relevant today.mockingbird

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote –  It’s strange (at least to me ) that I choose two books that were written by childhood friends (who also helped him with this book). In Cold Blood was my very first True Crime book that I wrote, and granted I read this book when I was really young (probably not a good idea… but you can’t stop a  girl with a valid library card) and I just remember it scaring the crap out of me, it was really difficult for me to understand how someone could do that.

What books have shaped you and your views?

tyraheart1

Leave a Reply

