Nail Polish Lottery Club – Week 26

20130629_200312First thing first, I cut my nails… I had been going back and forth over whether I wanted to trim my nails, then a super dramatic break made it almost impossible for my to patch….so I did the big chop, and I gotta say I’m loving the short(er) and sassy nails… honestly I think they look healthier and seems like the polish is looking better on my nails…no on to this weeks pick!!!

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM NUMBER IS 204

If you do not have that many polishes in your collection use 24 (or 6)

Julep’s Bunny

nplc26

Generally as a rule of thumb I do not add white or black nail polish to my list of untried, that’s for several reasons; one, I tend to purchase those colors regularly… and their primary use is for nail art or as an “undie” But this polish was different than the other white’s that I owned, and I instantly wanted it on my nails…the Julep website describes this color as “Crisp white linen with fine gold shimmer” and I instantly knew that it DSC02531was a little different from the other white polishes that I own…  take a look and see for yourself. Now when I saw the polish the motivator to wear it alone was the “fine gold shimmer” imagine my surprise when I put the polish on and I couldn’t find any visible gold shimmer…. looked at my nails at length in different type of lighting and still no gold shimmer…. must be some magic that Julep concocted because you can clearly see the shimmer on the bottle. Now I did go and search out other reviews of this nail polish because I wanted to see if there was a “user error” on my part. And it seems like this polish is hit and miss some people got shimmer, other’s said that this shimmer was clumpy and hard to separate…so who knows…

Before I go any further let me wish all who celebrated a happy belated Canada Day and Independence Day… and for those of you who didn’t I hope you had a wonderful week!! Because it was an extended holiday weekend for me I wanted to be a patriotic and do a easy and fun 4th of July Mani…4th of july and that stay on my nails from Monday till Thursday night, so when I got home from the festivities I changed my mani so that I could give a fair review of Bunny… the application was smooth, I used two coats and was happy with the look (aside from the non shimmer). The next day I was cracksat the gym and I noticed that I had developed fine cracks in the polish, I’ve never had this happen to me before, I’m not sure if it was the combination of the Julep polish formulation and the Sally Hansen Ultra Wear Top Coat.

To give you all a mental picture of the cracks (which were on 4 of 5 of my nails on each hand) where like the fine cracks that are in old china (the exposure on the photo has been adjusted so that the cracks can be seen clearly) For me, white nail polish is always a bit tricky, but I have never had this issue with white polish…… maybe it was simply band luck.

Now I had a LOT to say about this polish, because it seriously hurt my feelings (why has the last couple of pick have done this to me?!) And I did a video where I verbally expressed my feelings, maybe a bit too loud (and to prove I am currently having bad luck) The video quality was fantastic but there was no sound!!!! No Sound!!!But I will post it anyway…. it’s pretty funny actually.. As far as a rating is concerned, this one get’s 4… seriously! I got no shimmer and instead I got cracks after 114 hours of wear… 8 of which I was asleep…. this one will be added to the whites I use for nail art. Hopefully week 27 will bring me better luck!!

Until Next time…

tyraheart1

Leave a Reply

