Tyra Cooks?…Mexican Crockpot Chicken

Lately I’ve gotten so bored with food… that tends to happen with me because I eat the same foods over  and over until I can no longer stand to look at them. I had some  skinless boneless chicken breast in the freezer that I wanted to use, but with the temperature heating up I really didn’t want to turn on the stove…. here comes to crockpot!

I love my crockpot and I have  love for crockpot meals, maybe because I can throw everything in a pot and come back hours later to a meal ready to eat… The recipe is super easy to make 5 ingredients (even though you see 6… I’ll explain that later)

DSC02320

Recipe type: Dinner

Cuisine: Slow Cooker

Prep time:  5 mins

Cook time:  5 hours (high setting)

Total time:  5 hours 5 mins

Serves: 6

Ingredients

  • 1 can black beans, drained (or pinto beans… depending on YOUR taste)
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 (8 oz.) block cream cheese (I use low-fat)
  • 1 jar salsa
  • 1½ lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 package taco seasoning (optional)

Instructions

  1. Cut the cream cheese into large chunks.
  2. Place all of the ingredients in the slow cooker, and stir to combine.
  3. Set the cooker on LOW and cook for, at least, 5 hours.
  4. Before serving, shred the chicken with two forks, and stir the mixture until it’s well combined.
  5. ENJOY!
 

This recipe is SUPER adaptable; this is really a basic recipe I’ve seen people add more ingredients and adjust others…. so you every time you make it; it’ll be totally different ,  you can even adjust the time, just make sure that you cook it for at least five hours (you want to make sure that the chicken is completely is done)

Once the done, simply shred the chicken and you ready to chomp. You can use this as a filling for tacos, topping for nachos,  you can plop it on top of rice, or make a taco salad

And this a defiantly a freezer friendly meal (for you singletons out there!

DSC02327

just throw everything in there!

I added all the ingredients into my Loseit! app and out popped this informationCapture

So a couple of things that I observed about this recipe

  • I probably should have drained the beans a little bit more.
  • I initially purchased cheese and sour cream along with my lettuce and tomatoes, but because the creaminess of the chicken, I think I might pass on those
  • My younger brother who is super picky liked it… (he had it over nacho chips)

DSC02343

                 after 5 hours

It might look a little weird, but it was sooo good. And naturally I totally forgot to take pictures once I plated it… we were hungry and wanted to get down to business…

If you have any super easy crockpot meals I would love to try them leave a comment or a link in the comments section

Until Next Time!!

                            tyraheart1

3 thoughts on “Tyra Cooks?…Mexican Crockpot Chicken

  1. Pingback: The Stat Connection | Random Acts of Snark

Leave a Reply

