FMM: Childhood Flashbacks

wpid-friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

1. Did you have a set bedtime as a child?  If so, what was it? Yes! My mother was very strict about me going to bed and getting my rest for school, Elementary school it was 8:30, Middle school it was 9pm. By the time High school came around my mother figured that I was mature enough to go to bed when I wanted to, but I love sleep and was often in bed by  9:30 and asleep by 10 every night.

2. Were you taught to be a member of the “Clean Plate Club?” Did it have affect your eating habits as an adult?  No I was never apart of that club, I was a picky eater as a child and if I didn’t want to eat something I didn’t.

3. Share one thing that you were not allowed to do as a child. I there weren’t many things that I wasn’t allowed to do as a child. But I distinctly remember that my mother has a huge issue with the color of my underwear. White and pastel colors only. Red? No… Black? Are you kidding me? Of course she purchased them so I really had no say. So now that I’m an adult, I have underwear in every shade of the rainbow!

4. What is the cheapest gas price you can remember? Maybe about $1.10. I miss those days!

5. What was your favorite thing on the playground?  Swings, fun for hours…

6. Share one thing that your parents always made you do that you didn’t like doing.  Clean up behind myself.

7. Do you remember your first kiss?  If so, share the details!  I answered this question in this post. But I’ll mention it again;  I don’t remember how old I was, I think I was 10 or 11. I did it on a dare, then the person who dared me ran and told my mother then I got in trouble. Needless to say it was a long time before I kissed another boy.

8. Did you prefer to play inside or outside?  I liked to ride my bike and things like that outside, but I liked being inside too.  I was always more interested in music, shopping and teenybopper magazines than I was about climbing trees or fishing.

9. What was your favorite TV show growing up?  Soul Train, that was always “Must See TV” for me. It was the only way that I could see my music idols on TV, and it gave me the opportunity to watch the Soul Train Line…. that was my favorite part!

                                                                                                    XXX Soul Train VH1 Rock Doc TV Music  er8145.JPG

10. Share one awesome childhood memory.  Once a year my school would go to an amusement park called Enchanted Forest . Usually my mom and other family members would take off of work and we would go as a family, it was a big deal. This one particular year it was just me and my mom. I wanted to get on the Ferris Wheel so bad, and my mom didn’t want to me to go on alone, so she came with me (I didn’t know at the time that my mother was afraid of heights) So we’re on the Ferris wheel, I’m having the time of my life, then the operator starts letting people off of the ride, and we just so happen to be at the very top.  My mother had a panic attack, she was crying and REALLY freaking out. I remember even though I was a little girl that I held her hand and kept saying, “Momma we are gonna be alright, they’ll let us off soon.” Although my this is not one of my mother’s favorite memories it’s always been on of mine, I think that instance personifies our relationship. We do things for one another even if it makes us uncomfortable, and even whenever we need each other we are ALWAYS there.

Bonus: Share a picture of yourself as a child. 

39021_417256500994_696475994_5176722_3363375_n2

            Mom and I

Remember to Be kind to one another!

tyraheart1

Leave a Reply

