I have the right to want equality

Equality –  the quality or state of being equal527839_10151062993645995_86161221_n

Not sure what that means to you, but put yourself in my shoes…

Not so long ago a person of my race and sex would not have been seen as equal. As a Black woman I didn’t have the right, to vote, own property, or to have a voice

On January 1, 1863, slaves within any State, or designated part of a State … then … in rebellion, … shall be then, thenceforward, and forever free. And in 1920 I was told that I along with every other women in the united States of America can vote. I have the constitution right to be free to assemble and the freedom of speech… These are my rights! MINE!

 

I posted this picture as my Facebook photo 34999_10201064311348691_2108780870_a and the feedback I got was heartbreaking. I was called ignorant and uneducated by someone I considered my friend simply because I support marriage equality.  So I posted this on my Facebook : 

rant

People aren’t gonna agree on this topic; that’s a given. But when you lack a certain amount of respect to allow a person to have a difference of opinion, that’s when I go off. I will never belittle or degrade a person based on their beliefs no matter how strongly I feel against them. I think it’s time for others to do the same.

I am grateful and proud to live in the United States; despite all it’s flaws, I am grateful to have had an upbringing that taught be to love and respect people despite their imperfections, I am grateful and humble that I have people; good people who love me and enrich my life in ways I could never have imagined, I am lucky  to be part of the population to have my marriage recognized as a such in all 50 states, and I am proud to have a voice that allows me to speak out for my friends who don’t have that right. And I am strong enough to continue to do so despite what people will call me. This is my right!

And in case you don’t know me, allow me to introduce myself: My name is Tyra, I’m 35 and I’m a Catholic,  I’m  pro-choice, a democrat, I swear a lot, watch a lot of TV, I love boy-bands and hot Olympic Swimmers, I have a strange fascination with the world’s monarchy, and yes that saucy royal ginger named Harry is hot! And I’m think EVERYONE should have equal rights! Oh yeah, and one more thing …. I’m a Snarky Bitch, yet none of those things make me less of a person than you.

And just in case you need to find me and share you opposing opinion with me, let me direct you to where you can do that, cause I’m always ready for a fight you can find me here, here , here or here

PEACE AND LOVE

tyraheart1

Leave a Reply

